XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Gas

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2014, 01:37 PM
Received 17 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Gas

I'm a newbie with a 2007 XK. I know the manual says to use premium gas but most modern engines will automatically adjust for the octane. Can I use regular when I'm just driving around town at low speeds?

Old 08-05-2014, 01:53 PM
Received 32 Likes on 28 Posts

The XK requires 95 octane gas for driving. It also can be filled with E10 95 octane gas.
No need for higher octane, costs more brings no advantage as long as you haven't upgraded the engine by mods like ECU mapping and higher Superchargerpressure.

Old 08-05-2014, 02:17 PM
Veteran Member
Received 259 Likes on 205 Posts

Originally Posted by jehart49
I'm a newbie with a 2007 XK. I know the manual says to use premium gas but most modern engines will automatically adjust for the octane. Can I use regular when I'm just driving around town at low speeds?
The highest octane in North America is generally 91, although some is around that is higher.
Here in Canada the 91 at Shell, Esso and Ultramar does not have any ethanol, and the gas at Petro Canada does. I prefer the non-ethanol as its more efficient.
I believe the measurement of octane in Europe and N.A. is a bit different, or at least thats what the tech's at the Jaguar academy told me a few years ago, so the 91 is likely about the same as the Euro 95..not totally sure.

I would not use anything less than 91 as its the heat build up from detonation that the computer registers and retards the engine timing which produces less power and less heat.
My guess is if you 'grenade' your engine for whatever reason, Jaguar would test the fuel and realize the low octane and/or the computer would record the detonation condition... note that the manual specifies 91.
Only my opinion, but I doubt its worth it.
Lawrence

The following 3 users liked this post by Mulmur: