XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

New diagnostic toy - HT200

 
  #1  
Old 05-18-2019, 09:45 PM
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,127
Received 818 Likes on 523 Posts
Default New diagnostic toy - HT200

I took a punt and bought a new diagnostic took a few weeks ago and it arrived a couple of days ago. It was discussed on one of the other lists, XF I think, and a couple of people who bought them seemed pleased with them. There is only one review on EBAY and it got one star but as the forum guys seemed happy with it I thought I would risk $30.

The amount of information it can pull out of the car is incredible for such a cheap device. It is made by Autel and is a HT200. Once the dongle is registered using a smart phone you can download the diagnostic tool for one marque for free so I naturally chose Jaguar. Other ones can be purchased for just over $20.

I had a quick play with it yesterday and the attached PDF's show some of the scans available. The device detects which car modules it can talk to then you can select each one individually and query the fault codes or look at the live data stream. You can either display the current value, turn the metric in to a graph or display it as a gauge. My only criticisms are that you don't appear to be able to produce custom screens with just the metrics you are interested in and to create a pdf of the results from a live stream you have to scroll to the bottom of the screen to make the values populate.

The attached PDF's contain some of the data I captured and, as you can see, it captures things like ABS wheel sensor speeds, steering wheel angle, air-con blower fan speed, humidity, air-con system pressure, blend flap positions, carbon dioxide sensor level, temperature of the hi-fi amp, differential status and clutch and oil temperature, engine oil temperature, sump oil temperature, calculated oil volume, the status of many buttons or switches (on or off), seat motor output, damper status, etc, etc, etc. It also has the usual OBD scanning capability and seems to be able to pull codes from most modules plus reset the codes.

I will probably still just use Dash Command to monitor my car for more regular use because it is customisable and quick to get going while I am driving but I can see this other tool having its uses as well.


 
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Abs.pdf (33.2 KB, 19 views)
File Type: pdf
Aircon.pdf (29.4 KB, 12 views)
File Type: pdf
Amp.pdf (26.4 KB, 11 views)
File Type: pdf
Bluetooth .pdf (37.0 KB, 9 views)
File Type: pdf
DiagReport .pdf (44.9 KB, 17 views)
File Type: pdf
DiagSummary.pdf (32.1 KB, 15 views)
File Type: pdf
Diff.pdf (28.8 KB, 10 views)
File Type: pdf
DiffInfo.pdf (27.7 KB, 11 views)
File Type: pdf
ECM.pdf (66.6 KB, 17 views)
File Type: pdf
FSJB.pdf (38.2 KB, 5 views)
File Type: pdf
Headlamp .pdf (26.9 KB, 15 views)
File Type: pdf
LiveData.pdf (37.5 KB, 22 views)
File Type: pdf
Seat module .pdf (34.6 KB, 13 views)
File Type: pdf
Suspension .pdf (31.9 KB, 15 views)
File Type: pdf
TCM.pdf (35.5 KB, 15 views)
The following 7 users liked this post by u102768:
guy (06-06-2019), MarkyUK (05-19-2019), Patrick Wong (05-18-2019), Queen and Country (05-19-2019), ralphwg (05-19-2019), robtroxel (07-01-2019), SuperTrav (05-20-2019)
  #2  
Old 05-18-2019, 11:49 PM
Patrick Wong's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Green Valley, AZ USA
Posts: 345
Received 62 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

Thanks for providing your evaluation of this device. I'm interested in that because the SDD clone that I had bought a couple of years ago no longer works, even after I tried to reinstall the software.

Do you believe that the DTC logged by the DiagReport file are correct?
Were you able to clear the historic and intermittent DTC?
 

Last edited by Patrick Wong; 05-18-2019 at 11:55 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-19-2019, 03:24 AM
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,127
Received 818 Likes on 523 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Patrick Wong View Post
Do you believe that the DTC logged by the DiagReport file are correct?
I believe so. I haven't scanned the car with SDD for a little while but I recognise most of the codes.

Fan 3 control - circuit high is because of my tune, the parking sensor ones are probably because my front bumper was removed earlier in the year whilst some work was being done on the car, the lamp ones are probably because I changed a lot of bulbs out for LED's and have had them disconnected whilst the power was on.

I haven't tried resetting the codes but I presume that it would work. I can try tomorrow if you are particularly interested.

I have a working SDD as well but tend to only use it for flashing modules as it takes a little while to crank it up. I will probably use this new dongle for checking errors now as I can keep it in my car and use my other dongle with Dash Command for monitoring.
 
The following users liked this post:
Queen and Country (05-19-2019)
  #4  
Old 05-19-2019, 09:20 AM
Patrick Wong's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Green Valley, AZ USA
Posts: 345
Received 62 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

Thanks for this info. No need to reset the DTC if you would not otherwise be inclined to do so. I will place my order from an eBay supplier today!

I have a current problem where the Smart fob is not recognized by the car, and I have to insert the fob into the center console receptacle to get the XK to start.

I'd like to see if any current DTC are logged related to this issue. The 12V battery is new and fully-charged; the fob CR2032 battery is also new and measured 3.2V upon installation.
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-2019, 10:06 AM
Reverend Sam's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,904
Received 916 Likes on 447 Posts
Default

Oops... My mistake. I retract my last comment.
 

Last edited by Reverend Sam; 05-19-2019 at 04:28 PM.
  #6  
Old 05-19-2019, 11:31 AM
kj07xk's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Naperville, Illinois USA
Posts: 3,216
Received 805 Likes on 651 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Patrick Wong View Post
I have a current problem where the Smart fob is not recognized by the car, and I have to insert the fob into the center console receptacle to get the XK to start.

I'd like to see if any current DTC are logged related to this issue. The 12V battery is new and fully-charged; the fob CR2032 battery is also new and measured 3.2V upon installation.
I take it that the fob works correctly for all other functions? (doors, lights, etc.)
 
  #7  
Old 05-19-2019, 04:11 PM
Patrick Wong's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Green Valley, AZ USA
Posts: 345
Received 62 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kj07xk View Post
I take it that the fob works correctly for all other functions? (doors, lights, etc.)
Yes, the car responds appropriately as each of the 4 fob buttons are depressed. I tried both fobs and the car does not recognize either with regards to starting, unless I insert the fob into the center console slot.
 

Last edited by Patrick Wong; 05-19-2019 at 04:14 PM.
The following users liked this post:
kj07xk (05-19-2019)
  #8  
Old 06-02-2019, 08:01 AM
Patrick Wong's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Green Valley, AZ USA
Posts: 345
Received 62 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

I received the HT200 last week and had time to mess with it last night and this morning. The first step is to download the Jaguar software which is a two step process. One to download Jaguar software and the second to download a Diag-Europe app. Once that is done then the system will work.

It is pretty cool to be able to see the many parameters logged by the various ECUs when the car is running, if you are interested in seeing fuel line pressure, fuel rail temp, manifold pressure, short and long term fuel trim, etc.

The HT200 revealed many DTC logged on ancillary systems. With regards to the fob not being recognized until it is inserted into the center console holder, the relevant DTC are B1B01-67 and B1B01-87. Apparently there is a fault either with the instrument cluster unit or the start control unit (anyone know where that is) or the associated wiring.

Anyway I agree that this is an amazing deal for $30 on eBay and is still great at the $50 retail price at Walmart.com. I would advise against buying an eBay "open box" unit because the prior owner may have already downloaded the one free software; hence you might have to pay $22 for each additional manufacturer software download.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Patrick Wong:
Queen and Country (06-02-2019), u102768 (06-02-2019)
  #9  
Old 06-02-2019, 06:42 PM
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,127
Received 818 Likes on 523 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Patrick Wong View Post
I would advise against buying an eBay "open box" unit because the prior owner may have already downloaded the one free software; hence you might have to pay $22 for each additional manufacturer software download.
Glad you like it. Mine was an open box and I worried about that when I read the instructions but didn't have any issues getting my one free software. It is potentially an issue though.
 
  #10  
Old 06-24-2019, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 271
Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

This sounds pretty amazing. But how could I buy this ht200 delivered to Europe? I cannot find any listings in either amazon or ebay right now. Only Walmart, but they do not send overseas.

Br
ter
 
  #11  
Old 06-24-2019, 07:29 PM
Canadacat's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: KINGSVILLE, ONTARIO
Posts: 77
Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Would this be capable of reflashing my power seats.i currently have an issue with one passenger seat not bring able to go forward.
 
  #12  
Old 06-24-2019, 07:51 PM
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,127
Received 818 Likes on 523 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ter11 View Post
This sounds pretty amazing. But how could I buy this ht200 delivered to Europe? I cannot find any listings in either amazon or ebay right now. Only Walmart, but they do not send overseas.

Br
ter
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Hyper-Tough...0/254270981860
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Hyper-Tough...0/192958153391

A lot of the ones I saw for sale when I bought mine looked like returned ones so I wonder if Walmart sell off returned items cheap and they end up on EBAY?
 
  #13  
Old 06-24-2019, 07:52 PM
Veteran Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,127
Received 818 Likes on 523 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Canadacat View Post
Would this be capable of reflashing my power seats.i currently have an issue with one passenger seat not bring able to go forward.
I don't believe so. I think it will only display codes and reset them.
 
  #14  
Old 06-24-2019, 08:10 PM
Reverend Sam's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,904
Received 916 Likes on 447 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ter11 View Post
This sounds pretty amazing. But how could I buy this ht200 delivered to Europe? I cannot find any listings in either amazon or ebay right now. Only Walmart, but they do not send overseas.

Br
ter
The Autel HT200 is no longer shown on the manufacturer's website. The Autel AP200 seems to be the equivalent, and they are currently available on Amazon.
 
  #15  
Old 06-25-2019, 01:02 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 271
Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Dear all,

Thank you all for the helpful hints! I tried to find out about the differences between HT200 and AP200, but the information on the web is scarce on this. Is it sure that the AP200 is the newer model and does it have the same or more abilities as the HT200?

br
ter
 
  #16  
Old 06-30-2019, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 271
Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

I have ordered the autel ap200 via aliexpress. Will post here after I can give it a try when it arrives.
 
  #17  
Old 06-30-2019, 06:04 PM
MarkyUK's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 688
Received 156 Likes on 110 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Canadacat View Post
Would this be capable of reflashing my power seats.i currently have an issue with one passenger seat not bring able to go forward.
I took mine to a specialist with exactly the same problem, he just held the forward button forward for 6 seconds and it then worked, he said it's usual when a [email protected] sits in the passenger seat and reclines it too far back, the motor shuts down as a result.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by MarkyUK:
kj07xk (06-30-2019), robtroxel (07-01-2019)
  #18  
Old 07-04-2019, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 271
Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Update: received my Autel ap200 today. It seems to be a great tool. I found no difference to the ht200. Read more about the dtc error codes that I retrieved today with the ap200

afs/swivel headlights failure, post #45:
https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...3/#post2094147

Pedestrian system failure warning, post #53:
https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...58#post2094158

Br
ter
 

Last edited by Ter11; 07-04-2019 at 03:00 PM.
  #19  
Old 07-04-2019, 03:12 PM
Canadacat's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: KINGSVILLE, ONTARIO
Posts: 77
Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Smile

Thanks I will give that a try, though I don't know if my wife is going to like being called a lard ****, but if it fixes the problem I am fine with it.



Originally Posted by MarkyUK View Post
I took mine to a specialist with exactly the same problem, he just held the forward button forward for 6 seconds and it then worked, he said it's usual when a [email protected] sits in the passenger seat and reclines it too far back, the motor shuts down as a result.
 
  #20  
Old 07-05-2019, 04:53 PM
Canadacat's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: KINGSVILLE, ONTARIO
Posts: 77
Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Well so much for that, now neither power seat works , nothing I guess I will go for reflash
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New diagnostic toy - HT200


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: