XK / XKR ( X150 ) 2006 - 2014

New XKR owner dissapointed in the B & W system

Old 09-18-2014, 04:41 PM
Received 54 Likes on 40 Posts
Default New XKR owner dissapointed in the B & W system

Hi all,

New owner and proud to have wangled a 2010 XKR.......not exactly new to Jag as used to have an STR........and i'm also a consultant engineer for Lear group who make the seats for most of the JLR range......hopefully i can assist with any seat related issues.

So my gripe is with the B&W stereo.........its poor to say the least......having come from a 300c with a 280w Boston Acoustics its about half as loud lacking bass.....and just not giving any sort of decent volume........so done a crude DB read at full whack and getting about 80db max......my other car a Vauxhall Ampera....aka Chevy Volt had a BOSE system and achieves 90db with its energy efficient series of speakers......and sounds way punchier and louder.

Can someone with an XKR with B&W get a max db read.........before i venture off to the dealers!!!!

Thanks in advance guys/gals

Old 09-18-2014, 06:04 PM
Veteran Member
Received 490 Likes on 358 Posts

Originally Posted by damienedwards
Hi all,

New owner and proud to have wangled a 2010 XKR.......not exactly new to Jag as used to have an STR........and i'm also a consultant engineer for Lear group who make the seats for most of the JLR range......hopefully i can assist with any seat related issues.

So my gripe is with the B&W stereo.........its poor to say the least......having come from a 300c with a 280w Boston Acoustics its about half as loud lacking bass.....and just not giving any sort of decent volume........so done a crude DB read at full whack and getting about 80db max......my other car a Vauxhall Ampera....aka Chevy Volt had a BOSE system and achieves 90db with its energy efficient series of speakers......and sounds way punchier and louder.

Can someone with an XKR with B&W get a max db read.........before i venture off to the dealers!!!!