XK120 XK140 XK150 1948 - 1962

SU Carbs - H6 vs. H8

Old 04-21-2014, 01:39 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default SU Carbs - H6 vs. H8

Hello Everybody,

I'm considering replacing the H6 carbs on my XK140 MC with H8's. SNG Barratt sells a pair of H8 sandcast SU's made by Burlen Fuel. XKs Unlimited also sells a pair, but I'm not sure who makes it.

Any opinions on the benefits of such a swap? Thanks.

Old 04-22-2014, 07:31 AM
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

I'm no expert, but if I were, the first questions I'd ask are: Why? What do you hope to accomplish? Is there a problem with your current set of carbs?

I think only then can you determine if the swap makes sense.

Just my 2 pence.

Old 04-22-2014, 04:23 PM

Thanks, George, for the input. My current set of carbs need rebuilding, which has prompted my consideration of an alternative. I spoke to a friend in Phoenix who works on Jags and he told me that the H8's make a world of difference over the standard H6's. My car has the C-Type head, which he said would benefit in performance with the larger carbs.

Just thought I'd see if anyone had a similar experience. Thanks again.

Old 04-22-2014, 07:30 PM

Understood. I hope you'll let us all know what happens.

Thanks.

Old 04-22-2014, 08:48 PM

I absolutely will. I'll include pictures as well, if I decide to move forward. Thanks again for your responses.

Old 05-01-2014, 03:13 AM
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts

hello,

You can't just replace the H6 by H8.
The inlet On the manifold has to be enlarged.
The H8 is 2" the H6 is 13/4".
But the only thing you will accomplish is a higher fuel consumption.
May be a little bit of extra torq if you are lucky.

regards,
Peter Jan

Old 05-01-2014, 08:20 PM