XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Body processing module electrical problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2010, 06:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Body processing module electrical problem

Need Help. Friday, the power fuse for the bpm fuse blew after going down a steep driveway (20 deg.). This is F7 in the driver bos (15A). it powers the bpm which powers the shifter interlock, interior lights, washer pump, one of the horns, etc. I replaced the fuse after diagnosing and it worked fine for a day and then it blew again. Now the fuse blows as soon as i replace it (key on or off). Any ideas on how i can find out what is blowing the fuse? Any help would be very appreciated.

please note I have the electrical schematics for the car which is a 97 XK8, but I am new to Jags as i just bought this car the day before this problem.

Thanks in advance.

Old 06-27-2010, 07:03 PM
Veteran member
Received 1,144 Likes on 750 Posts

hmmm, sounds like water somewhere...especially after going downhill (water went down there with it!)

Better get looking for puddles, check boot (take the spare out), bonnet, everwhere...and report back.

Added- make sure your spare tire didn't go slamming into that module right in front of it. Not sure what it is...but there's one there.

Old 06-27-2010, 07:19 PM

H20boy, After i wrote the post, I went and checked the spare and tools as i have heard a clunk every few times i have gone up or down my driveway, but it and the tools, were very securely in place and no visable movement. I did not note any controls in front of the tire, but there is a wire harness loose behind the tire (i think it is the rear tail lights. I can see your point on water, but i would very much doubt it as i know the car had not been wet in several weeks, unless it came from the air con. Any ideas how i could trouble shoot. I was hoping the BPM had separate plug on it so i could disconnect things and ohm out, but no such luck, it is one big plug.