XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Instrument Cluster Bulbs

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2014, 10:58 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Instrument Cluster Bulbs

I am new to this form and to the world of Jaguars, so please forgive any incorrect usage and provide direction as I would like to make good use of this Form.

I have found lots of info on removal and replacing of the bulbs in the instrument cluster. My question(s) deal with the additional steps not necessarily included but may be eluded to. More than likely these have been addressed several times, if so I apologize and maybe you could direct me to the link(s).

On the 2005 XK8
Is it mandatory to disconnect the battery?
What programming is lost when disconnecting the battery to replace the bulbs?
How do I reprogram these settings?

Old 07-06-2014, 11:24 AM
Veteran Member
Received 600 Likes on 446 Posts

IMO to just replace bulbs you don't have to disconnect the battery however it is good practice when doing anything electrical to disconnect power.

After disconnecting the battery you will need to reset the windows, seat memory functions and possibly the radio presets.

Old 07-06-2014, 11:42 AM
Received 188 Likes on 123 Posts
Default Additional info after replacing your dash bulbs

#1: No, you do not need to disconnect the BTY. "BUT", to get the steering wheel to stay out and down, leave the key in the ignition after adjusting, then disconnect the BTY.

#2: The programing that will be lost are as mentioned above--if you do disconnect the Bty.

#3: To reset the windows. Best to be in a very quite place. Push the down button on the window and hold it until the window goes down and listen for a little "click". Then push the up button and hold it until you here another little "click". Done! Now do the other side.

#4: Use your owner's hand book to re-program the steering wheel and seat memory and anything else that may program--side mirrow --if programable etc.