XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"New" 2000 XKR Convertible - 100,000 mile service?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2012, 01:33 AM
Received 32 Likes on 25 Posts
Default "New" 2000 XKR Convertible - 100,000 mile service?

Just bought our first Jaguar this week. 2000 XKR convertible with 95,307 miles on it. Seems to be very clean. Top looks new, so I'm guessing it has been garaged. Car Fax shows some dealer service and some non-dealer service. Since I'm just learning about these cars and don't have a service tech, we plan to take it to the dealer (here in Chattanooga) for its 100,000 mile service. Is that sensible?

No noticable issues.

MAF replaced at 26k. EGR tube/hose replaced at 50k. Battery in 9/2005. "Convertible top operation checked" in 7/2009 at 87k - dealer says they replaced hydraulic lines.

The only thing I feel so far is something in the front end. Kind of clicking onse in a while - maybe a ball joint? or tires? Has almost new Riken Raptors.

Anything I should watch for on the car or dealer?

I'm guessing the top operation service should preclude the green shower, eh?

Thanks for a fabulous forum. Learning already. Just not much time to read it.

David - Abby's Guy
2000 XKR Convertible
Silver w/black top

Old 03-10-2012, 03:53 AM
Veteran Member
Received 182 Likes on 148 Posts

If the timing chain tensioners have not been replaced this needs to be done immediately. This can cause the timing chain to slip and result in catastrophic engine failure. There's a how-to in the FAQ thread.

Mark

The following users liked this post:
Abby's Guy (03-12-2012)
Old 03-10-2012, 03:57 AM
GGG
Received 16,789 Likes on 12,163 Posts

Here's the maintenance schedule for your car:

XK8 - 1999MY Service Schedule.pdf

Items for 100K service in the right hand column.

Regardless of location, the Jaguar Dealer is always the most expensive route for servicing but has the expertise.