XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New To Jaguar

Old 01-13-2016, 01:38 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default New To Jaguar

Hey Jaguarforums. Yesterday I finally bought an XK8 coupe (My first Jag) after wanting one for sometime. It's a 2000 with 73k miles on it in pristine condition. Im willing to do whatever it takes to keep it on the road for many years to come however I have no experience with British cars, I'm just curious if anyone would have any advice for me such as what preventative maintenance should be done, is there anything I should have checked out, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Old 01-13-2016, 04:32 PM
GGG
Received 16,761 Likes on 12,150 Posts

Welcome to the forum KayScotts,

I've moved your question from General Tech Help to XK8/XKR forum. Members here with the same model will be able to advise.

Please follow this link New Member Area - Intro a MUST - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum to the New Member Area - Intro a MUST forum and post some info about yourself and your vehicle for all members to see. In return you'll get a proper welcome and some useful advice about posting to the forum.

Graham

Old 01-13-2016, 04:49 PM
Received 29 Likes on 28 Posts

Oh boy, you've asked for it now.
First Congrats, I've recently succumbed to the allure also with a 2003 convertible.
Do you have maintenance records....if not the first steps will be to check the tensioners and the second is to try to eliminate the impending transmission failure. Do a search for these. You also have water pump and thermostat housing upgrades to verify. As part of doing all of that, most of your fluids will be changed. You probably should also have your brake fluid flushed.

The following users liked this post:
KayScotts (01-14-2016)
Old 01-13-2016, 05:36 PM
Received 264 Likes on 192 Posts

Let me be the first to offer my sincere heart felt condolences.
Welcome to the Jag forum!

Dave

Tarlan (01-14-2016)
Old 01-13-2016, 06:06 PM