Go Back  Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum > Jaguar Models ( Modern ) > XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
Reload this Page >

OBD2 ELM327 Dash Commander - another workaround 2 fix the Jaguar temp gauge problem

XK8 / XKR ( X100 ) 1996 - 2006

OBD2 ELM327 Dash Commander - another workaround 2 fix the Jaguar temp gauge problem

 
  #1  
Old 05-08-2017, 04:01 PM
Salo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 212
Received 54 Likes on 28 Posts
Default OBD2 ELM327 Dash Commander - another workaround 2 fix the Jaguar temp gauge problem

Hi,
this is how I solved the problem with the Jaguar temp gauge, I installed the ELM327 OBD2 reader and used an iPad and the Dash Command App,
engine runs with a temp of 93C/199F with an outside temp of 2C/36F, I consider it the be high, but not 100% what the correct value should be on this car, anyway going the swap the waterpump and thermostat next week to new latest ones, just to be on the safe side and then let's see what the temp readings are after that.

here's a pic of my installation

 
The following users liked this post:
Orthodixie (05-09-2017)
  #2  
Old 05-09-2017, 05:39 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 23,322
Received 3,440 Likes on 3,046 Posts
Default

For many jags the workshop manual gives the design range the car will run at. Maybe also for your car?
 
  #3  
Old 05-09-2017, 07:01 AM
Salo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 212
Received 54 Likes on 28 Posts
Smile

thanks "JagV8" for the advise, I checked for this info in the workshop manuals located here "
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mkchxc77m4ex14f/tIjeeNuDWT" but can't find any info about cooling temp. I been reading a lot of threads on this subject and it seams like I'm not the first one to be worried about the high engine temp on my XKR, it's seams like most agree that 92-93C/198-200F is normal.

Anyway as I be replacing the cam chain tensioner's next week I will also replace the waterpump to the new one as well as the thermostat.

some info on the waterpump;
As mentioned in other posts, prior to 2003 and the introduction of the 4.2 XK engines, earlier cars suffered from using poor quality parts in the form of lightweight materials. Relating to the water pump, this manifests itself in the disintegration / breaking up of the plastic impellor within the water pump. This then leads to reduced coolant flow, localised heating and the worst case problems mentioned above. Indicative signs of a cooling problem on the XK8 engine are the cooling fans staying on for long periods regardless of temperature and / or one of the top hoses blowing off.

Before going to the effort of removing / replacing the water pump, with a cold engine, take the filler cap off the expansion tank and then ask someone to run the engine for you at 1200 rpm. Should the pump be working correctly, water should be circulating / swirling well in the tank. If there is a problem, then there will be very little swirl and therefore indicative of a problem with the water pump


All part's arrived today from DCR Autoparts in UK - see pic below - cheers
 
  #4  
Old 05-09-2017, 08:50 AM
dibbit's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 621
Received 161 Likes on 131 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Salo View Post
Anyway as I be replacing the cam chain tensioner's next week
Are you doing the work on that yourself? If so I would be interested in seeing a few pics of the work involved as you do it. I've done the secondary (upper) tensioners, but the rest is original.
 
The following users liked this post:
JimmyL (05-09-2017)
  #5  
Old 05-09-2017, 09:28 AM
Salo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 212
Received 54 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=dibbit;1679301]Are you doing the work on that yourself?

Hi,

no a local mechanic will do it for me but just found out he be on parental leave so the work is re-scheduled to 14-15 June and they promised me to take some before/after photo's of the job. I will talk to them about taking some detailed photo's also on the lower tensioners.

One tip - Dave @ DCR Autoparts in UK sent me a "detailed professional 45 or so step by step guide to completing this important engine repair job" so ask Dave ([email protected]) if he can provide this guide for You as this guide is part of their tensioner kit offering.
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-2017, 10:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Norfolk Virginia Beach
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

The "Torque" app is also really good for that. I troubleshot my a bad TPS sensor wire and a grounded MAF wire using the live graphs available. Has water temp as well. I sprang for the $5 full version.
 
  #7  
Old 05-15-2017, 02:08 AM
Salo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 212
Received 54 Likes on 28 Posts
Smile

[QUOTE=cdre;1681791]I troubleshot my a bad TPS sensor wire and a grounded MAF wire using the live graphs available.

great job !
 
  #8  
Old 05-15-2017, 02:42 PM
Spinedoc2304's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 196
Received 41 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

Any special advise on how to pair up Dash Command/ELM 327 with an iPhone?
Everything I read on the internet says you can't pair ELM 327 with an iPhone

Nick
 
  #9  
Old 05-15-2017, 03:29 PM
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: France
Posts: 62
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Elm 327 WIFI version works with iphone
 
  #10  
Old 05-16-2017, 03:09 AM
Salo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 212
Received 54 Likes on 28 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Spinedoc2304 View Post
Any special advise on how to pair up Dash Command/ELM 327 with an iPhone?
Everything I read on the internet says you can't pair ELM 327 with an iPhone

Nick
ELM327 works fine with iPhone/iPad (iOS), just go to general setting, turn on WiFi and add the ODB... Wifi connection, then start the Dash Command App and select Connect. You can then change the settings so that the App always connects on startup.
 
 

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: