Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rough idle on startup..please Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2014, 03:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rough idle on startup..please Help

Hi there folks,

I posted this a few weeks ago but didnt get any real feedback, I'll try again...

I guess there could be a lot of answers to this problem through the forum, but Im a newbie and I need some help pretty quick.
I bought a yr 2000 xk8 a few weeks back.

An issue has developed where occasionally upon starting (predominantly from cold) the car fires up but within 5 secs or so of running its starts to run very rough and stalls with warning lighe stating the obvious "stalled"
Seems to stall if regardless of feathering the throttle or not.
I manage to get it restarted pretty quickly with foot to floor to cut out the fuel, then upon catching I feather throttle, car runs very rough (incl white/grey smoke clouds and stink of fuel) and it then settles in under a minute and car is fine for journey.
Doesnt happen every time but maybe 1 in 10/15 times of starting when cold.
On the occasions where it doesnt happen, car starts fine with a perfect idle.

My background with cars is based on onld rwd fords etc so Im not too clued up on the high tech stuff. Im guessing that I need to look at the following...

- Clean maf (done ..no change)
- Clean throttle body & butterfly (done...no change)
- Intake duct check for holes, tears etc (done ... no holes/tears)
- Thinking crank sensor (but surely this would give problems through journey and not just from cold)
- Injector clean ( but car runs perfect when warm)
- Idle air control valve clean(where is it?)
- O2 sensor??

Need some experienced advice ...please..

Thanks
Mike

Old 05-30-2014, 05:36 AM
Received 191 Likes on 134 Posts