Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I jump...

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2012, 12:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I jump...

Hi
I'm new to both the forum and jags. I'm considering a 100k 2003 XK8 convertible, and wanted to know what you folks think about buying one at that mileage. I intend to use it as my regular car. Is this just a disaster waiting to happen? How well do they tolerate 100-200k miles? It is about 2 years into a new transmission.

Would I be better off spending more on one with fewer miles?

Cheers

Old 10-31-2012, 01:16 PM
Veteran Member
Received 677 Likes on 551 Posts

Expect a lot of answers on this, as you have come to the right place. These cars are pretty solid, after fixing a few known issues. Check the stickies on the main page and you will see what to avoid or at least be aware of.

My 2001 has already passed 100k and it is by no means the winner in the high mileage race. Several guys on here have 150-200k logged already. Even a low mileage 2003 is still almost 10 years old. The trick is to be able to do some DIY work or have access to a reasonable mechanic. Reasonable means Not the Jag Dealer.

Get it checked out, try to get repair & maintenance records, then go for it. They are great cars and you will love driving it.

Old 10-31-2012, 02:08 PM
Veteran Member
Received 687 Likes on 590 Posts

Welcome to the Forum.
What's the price ?
Please take a moment to visit
New Member Area - Intro a MUST - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum
so we can all say 'Hello'

Old 10-31-2012, 02:36 PM
GGG
Received 16,799 Likes on 12,168 Posts

+ 1 to Mike's advice and Steve's hint about the Intro

Service history is everything - mileage isn't that important.

What you do need to factor in is who will be maintaining the vehicle. Jaguar ownership can be costly if you rely on the dealer or even an independent.

Graham

Old 10-31-2012, 04:26 PM
Received 14 Likes on 6 Posts