Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sick Cat

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2013, 08:29 PM
dww
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Sick Cat

I am driving along in my 1998 XK8 with 98K on the clock thinking all is well and bragging to my passenger on how quiet and smooth it runs. Suddenly it felt like I had a flat tire, no place to pull off freeway until about a mile. I started go really slow when I realized that it was the engine and not a tire, & pulled off to a safe place. Turned engine off as it was dying, and restarted. It was really hard to start and sounded awful. The sound is hard to describe, a bit like a blown manifold or head gasket but ran as if one side was out of time. I have recently had the secondary tensioners replaced with metal ones. No check engine light, nothing at all. From that poor description can anyone throw a light on it.The car is still parked and I will pick it up by trailer tomorrow. Someone suggested that it could be the variable cam shaft. I have no experience with 4.0 V8 so I'm not sure if this a job for me or the Indy. I have rebuilt Jag six's in the past and this may well be an expensive fix and I may be forced to do it myself. ANY HELP WOULD REALLY, REALLY BE APPRECIATED.

Old 12-26-2013, 08:37 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,981 Likes on 2,123 Posts

Originally Posted by dww