Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

XK8 Window problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2012, 09:50 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,337 Likes on 722 Posts
Default XK8 Window problems

Before I get down to business, since I'm new hear, I might as well introduce myself. I'm a young college student studying science. My goal is to become a doctor, I would like most of all to become a neurologist.

My car is a hand me down, and one that I love but I, unfortunately can't afford to maintain it. Sadly, I can't really sell it either. I own a black on black with walnut wood veneer Jaguar XK8 convertible, model year 2000. It's got a mere 68k miles on the odometer, of which I have put in about 9k of them since I've had the car. I've had it since March.

How I came into possession of the car is a bit of a story. I was in the market for more economical car such as a Civic, a Veloster and ahem, a Corolla. Being the enthusiast though, I couldn't choose a car because none of them really appealed to me. I had finally decided on a used Mini, which I was expecting to have a few mechanical problems. Unfortunately, I couldn't afford any car, not even a beater, so it was, for the most part, wishful thinking. After my parents divorce it seemed like I'd be spending my time on foot, relying on friends to drive me home during the long weekends and holidays. None were too willing to oblige because I live in a town that's at least an hour and a half away from the university. At about March my father was enlightened and decided to help me with my tuition and transportation. When we were doing some car shopping we came across the cruel reality that my dad's credit wouldn't suffice for a new car. So, he decided to fix the XK8 (it had a transmission problem) and gave it to me. I've had the car ever since and I've been surprised by the lack of mechanical problems.