XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

R1 Package XJR - odd brake wear

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2017, 08:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default R1 Package XJR - odd brake wear

Apologies ahead of time for a long first post, just feeling a bit lost

Basically... front rotors are completely, but evenly (no scouring), worn after less than six months/8,500 miles. Rear rotors are in great shape. Brake pads look almost brand new on all four corners with very even wear. Calipers are not stuck. What happened? Am I a novice overlooking a simple issue?

A little over a year ago I picked up a 2003 Jaguar XJR, with the R1 Brembo package. It has been absolutely bulletproof. I've been wrenching on my own vehicles for a bit over six years now, and have done all of my own work on my other cars. The XJR is a bit beyond my comfort level, so I've stuck to only taking care of the basics (fluids, ignition, fuses, etc) and left everything else to the professionals. The nearest Jaguar dealer is 100 miles from me so I've dealt mostly with two local specialty shops.

When I bought the car there was only about 5,000 miles of life left in the discs, so sourcing a new set began immediately. Had read some decent things about the Centric/StopTech OEM replacements so I pulled the trigger on a complete set from RockAuto. The exact set I purchased were StopTech "Sport" model 128 rotors and model 309 pads, the same ones StopTech indicates for the R1 on their website.