Detailing / Car care Discuss detailing your ride inside and out. Pics are a must.

What products do you use to detail?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2009, 04:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What products do you use to detail?

Hi all, I recently started to detail my XJ8 on weekends and it has become quite an enjoyable way to spend my Sunday afternoons. Since I am very new to detailing cars, I'd like to ask what products you guys use for each step in detailing.

Here's my current detailing regimen:

• Soak car with water
  • Apply Turtle Wax car wash to the body of the car with Carrand's Total Clean Wash Mitt
  • Rinse off soap with water
  • Clean wheels and tires with Eagle One all wheel and tire cleaner
  • Rinse off wheels with jet spray from hose
  • Clean off remaining grime on wheels with Sonic Scrubber
  • Rinse off wheels
  • Apply Turtle Wax super hard shell car wax to body of car with applicator pads
  • Remove wax and buff with microfiber towels
  • Apply Eagle One wet tire shine to tires
  • Re examine entire car and remove any remaining wax deposits
What are your opinions on the detailing products I use? Also, I don't use clay bars yet so if you have come across a great clay bar product please post it here. Thank you for your time, and have a nice day.

Old 09-30-2009, 02:35 PM
Received 28 Likes on 19 Posts

Hi atacki. My regime is pretty much the same as yours. I also find it very relaxing and theraputic.

I mainly use Autoglym products. One thing I have to do regularly is clean off tar spots and insects and I use Autoglym Intensive Tar Remover. I have found it safe to use on the car mats and carpet as well. I also use kitchen surface wipes to do a lot of engine detailing to remove grease and to remove bird droppings.

Old 09-30-2009, 07:23 PM
Veteran Member
Received 9,005 Likes on 4,113 Posts

Name:  car01.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  19.3 KB