Dynamic Mode - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Notices
F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards

Dynamic Mode

  #1  
Old 06-12-2018, 08:33 AM
rexus31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 129
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default Dynamic Mode

On a non Active Switchable Exhaust equipped car, does Dynamic Mode change the exhaust note?
 
  #2  
Old 06-12-2018, 09:00 AM
uncheel's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 646
Thanked 174 Times in 123 Posts
Default

Yes, and you should see the light by the switch on the center console illuminate.
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-2018, 09:39 AM
DJS
DJS is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 3,889
Thanked 876 Times in 664 Posts
Default

That's assuming you have active exhaust, even if it's not switchable.
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-2018, 10:02 AM
rexus31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 129
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DJS View Post
That's assuming you have active exhaust, even if it's not switchable.
How would I know if the car is equipped with Active Exhaust? Active Switchable is easy because there is a button. Any tell tale signs?
 
  #5  
Old 06-12-2018, 10:15 AM
DJS
DJS is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 3,889
Thanked 876 Times in 664 Posts
Default

It would help if you'd put the year/model of your car in your signature. V6S/V8S/V8R have active exhaust standard, it was an option on the base V6. Not sure if it's standard or an option on the current base models.
 
  #6  
Old 06-12-2018, 10:55 AM
rexus31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 129
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DJS View Post
It would help if you'd put the year/model of your car in your signature. V6S/V8S/V8R have active exhaust standard, it was an option on the base V6. Not sure if it's standard or an option on the current base models.
.

Aplogies, thanks for the info. I’m looking at a 2016 340hp. I’ll inquire with the dealer if it has Active Exhaust.
 
  #7  
Old 06-12-2018, 11:20 AM
DJS
DJS is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 3,889
Thanked 876 Times in 664 Posts
Default

I'm told you can sign up for Topix for free short-term, and look up the VIN there. Should give all the options. I've never done it, but that's my understanding.
 
  #8  
Old 06-12-2018, 11:40 AM
rexus31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 129
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DJS View Post
I'm told you can sign up for Topix for free short-term, and look up the VIN there. Should give all the options. I've never done it, but that's my understanding.
Do you have a URL? The site Google is showing appears to be dealer facing and requires dealer related credentials to register.
 
  #9  
Old 06-12-2018, 11:42 AM
DJS
DJS is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 3,889
Thanked 876 Times in 664 Posts
Default

Never tried it, someone else will have to chime in.
 
  #10  
Old 06-12-2018, 11:53 AM
rexus31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 129
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DJS View Post
Never tried it, someone else will have to chime in.
Thanks. I used this site’s VIN decider tool for the car in question and one that I know has Switchable Actuve Exhaust. Both searches showed no active exhaust listing, Switchable or otherwise. Curious if this tool pulls from Topix.
 
  #11  
Old 06-12-2018, 12:13 PM
ek993's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 736
Thanked 153 Times in 121 Posts
Default

If you have active exhaust but no switch, putting in dynamic mode will not change the exhaust note
 
  #12  
Old 06-12-2018, 12:17 PM
rexus31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 129
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ek993 View Post
If you have active exhaust but no switch, putting in dynamic mode will not change the exhaust note
I think I get it. If a car is equipped with Active Exhaust, it is full time. Switchable Active Exhaust can be toggled on and off. Am I uunderstanding this correct?
 
  #13  
Old 06-12-2018, 12:47 PM
rexus31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 129
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I was able to access Topix. The car in question does not have Active Exhsust. Thanks everyone!
 
  #14  
Old 06-12-2018, 01:54 PM
DJS
DJS is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 3,889
Thanked 876 Times in 664 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ek993 View Post
If you have active exhaust but no switch, putting in dynamic mode will not change the exhaust note

Depends on what you mean by exhaust note. It makes a huge change on my car - in dynamic, you can hear the valves open in dynamic under load, and it gets loud. Doesn't do that with dynamic off.


Of course, since I pulled the fuse, it's always loud.
 
  #15  
Old 06-12-2018, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Greensburg, PA
Posts: 104
Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Interesting on the “pull the fuse” comment. I have an ‘18 F type R...does pulling the fuse leave the car in the loud mode all the time? What fuse number should be pulled? Does it set off any codes? Thanks!!
 
  #16  
Old 06-12-2018, 02:20 PM
ek993's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 736
Thanked 153 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rexus31 View Post


I think I get it. If a car is equipped with Active Exhaust, it is full time. Switchable Active Exhaust can be toggled on and off. Am I uunderstanding this correct?
No. If you have active exhaust, but no switch the exhaust is quiet until you hit 4000rpm then the valves close (or open... whichever way round it is) and the exhaust gets noisy.

Putting in dynamic does not alter this behavior - for cars without the switch. For cars with the switch, putting in dynamic automatically switches the exhaust to noisy mode.
 
  #17  
Old 06-12-2018, 02:20 PM
rexus31's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Gabriel, CA
Posts: 129
Thanked 14 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DJS View Post
Depends on what you mean by exhaust note. It makes a huge change on my car - in dynamic, you can hear the valves open in dynamic under load, and it gets loud. Doesn't do that with dynamic off.


Of course, since I pulled the fuse, it's always loud.
Does your car have Active Exhaust?
 
  #18  
Old 06-12-2018, 02:21 PM
ek993's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 736
Thanked 153 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tzoid9 View Post
Interesting on the “pull the fuse” comment. I have an ‘18 F type R...does pulling the fuse leave the car in the loud mode all the time? What fuse number should be pulled? Does it set off any codes? Thanks!!
On the older models used to be F43. Not sure if that still works on the newer models, seem to remember reading a thread that indicated this is no longer possible.
 
  #19  
Old 06-12-2018, 02:41 PM
DJS
DJS is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 3,889
Thanked 876 Times in 664 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ek993 View Post
Putting in dynamic does not alter this behavior - for cars without the switch. For cars with the switch, putting in dynamic automatically switches the exhaust to noisy mode.

Have to disagree - being in dynamic definitely makes a difference in exhaust sound. I have active exhaust, but not switchable active exhaust.


This applies to earlier cars; they got rid of the electric vacuum pump around MY16-17, and use engine vacuum instead. My pump and valves are noisy, which is why I pulled my fuse.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/szc3vze5ol...haust.pdf?dl=0
 
  #20  
Old 06-12-2018, 02:49 PM
ek993's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: CT
Posts: 736
Thanked 153 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DJS View Post
Have to disagree - being in dynamic definitely makes a difference in exhaust sound. I have active exhaust, but not switchable active exhaust.
If you put it into dynamic, the exhaust goes into noisy mode 100% of the time from idle all the way through the rev range as I think that is what the OP is looking for - or only under load?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Dynamic Mode


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: