F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards

Glove Box won't open

 
  #1  
Old 02-05-2019, 12:47 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Socal
Posts: 21
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Glove Box won't open

I'm wondering if any of you guys have had an issue with your glove box not opening before? I cant seem to find much info when googling, so I'd figure I would try asking you guys, meanwhile documenting my journey with this issue. A few months ago my glove box started only working intermittently, as in the button wouldn't respond when pressed, and sometimes restarting the car a few times would help, but it wasn't a guarantee. I would have to press it dozens of times over and over and it might eventually open. I made an appt with my local dealer(Rusnak Jaguar) and had them take a look at it. They spent a few hours on it and said they applied a software update on the car and that it should work fine now. So it did, until just last week when the same issue started happening again. I had to find out the hard way, when a highway patrol was asking for me insurance and registration, I reached for my glove box and the problem started again. It was so embarrassing because the highway patrol thought something was wrong with my car, or maybe he thought I was playing a trick to avoid a ticket. Anyway, I spam pressed the button for another minute or so until it finally opened.
I called my dealer earlier today to make an appt to bring it in for the same issue, and the service adviser had the nerve to tell me while I was making the appointment, "just so you know, the car is designed to have the button timed out if you press it more than once and then you will have to restart the car" I laughed in my head at how insane that was, and for the sake of not starting an argument, I told him that this wasn't design and there is legitimately a problem. He obliged and I now have an appt for next week.
Meanwhile, do you guys have any advice on this?
 
  #2  
Old 02-05-2019, 01:47 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,845
Received 318 Likes on 205 Posts
Default

Does anyone ever use it for holding gloves
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-2019, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2018
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 485
Received 102 Likes on 79 Posts
Talking

Originally Posted by powerhouse View Post
Does anyone ever use it for holding gloves
Only males with man buns who use skin lotions and such.
 
  #4  
Old 02-05-2019, 02:38 PM
scm's Avatar
scm
scm is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 752
Received 135 Likes on 113 Posts
Default

No need for gloves with the heated steering wheel.
 
  #5  
Old 02-05-2019, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 178
Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fujicoupe View Post
Only males with man buns who use skin lotions and such.
LOLOL
 
  #6  
Old 02-05-2019, 05:20 PM
OzXFR's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,881
Received 1,093 Likes on 908 Posts
Default

My "glove box" has only two things in it - the OEM folder with all the booklets in it and a bag of jelly beans.
The jelly beans are for if/when I have a hypoglycaemic episode seeing as I have Type 2 diabetes.
Has happened a couple of times now and not much fun driving along and suddenly having a dizzy/weak as a kitten spell.
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-2019, 06:39 PM
Unhingd's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Maryland, US
Posts: 13,518
Received 3,126 Likes on 2,360 Posts
Default

Iím curious to see whatís in mine. Iíll go check.
 
  #8  
Old 02-05-2019, 07:54 PM
zach05855's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 423
Received 155 Likes on 96 Posts
Default

We have a Glove box ??? can someone post a picture.
 
  #9  
Old 02-05-2019, 08:17 PM
Carbuff2's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Exit 30 in NorthWest NJ
Posts: 327
Received 50 Likes on 45 Posts
Default

^^^ Come ON guys, those responses were not helpful. At least, wait until some folks give rational input before joking around.


That said, I haven't had any issues opening our glove box. I keep my fuel records in there, so I open ours at least every other drive.
 
  #10  
Old 02-05-2019, 09:12 PM
Unhingd's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Maryland, US
Posts: 13,518
Received 3,126 Likes on 2,360 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Carbuff2 View Post
^^^ Come ON guys, those responses were not helpful. At least, wait until some folks give rational input before joking around.
.
Fair enough. Have not heard of this issue in the last 4 years on this forum. It sounds like an issue with the valet mode programming or associated wiring. OP, Have you had any issues opening the boot?
 

Last edited by Unhingd; 02-05-2019 at 09:22 PM.
  #11  
Old 02-05-2019, 10:34 PM
CRS 123's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 481
Received 69 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

I was also going to say it sounds like a glitch in the same system/wiring that controls the valet lock. Unlike others here, I use my glove box for lots of odds and ends as the F-Type is my daily driver😊
CRS
 
  #12  
Old 02-06-2019, 12:59 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Socal
Posts: 21
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Unhingd View Post
Fair enough. Have not heard of this issue in the last 4 years on this forum. It sounds like an issue with the valet mode programming or associated wiring. OP, Have you had any issues opening the boot?
No issues opening the trunk at all

Originally Posted by CRS 123 View Post
I was also going to say it sounds like a glitch in the same system/wiring that controls the valet lock. Unlike others here, I use my glove box for lots of odds and ends as the F-Type is my daily driver😊
CRS
That sounds plausible, as that seems to be the only electronic system that prevents the glove box from opening. I'm just not sure how that system could have gone "bad" though.

I will definitely keep you guys updated after my dealer appointment
 
  #13  
Old 02-06-2019, 04:00 AM
4x4uk's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 172
Received 38 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

check battery condition my range rover vogue used to have issues trying to open glove box when battery was low.

Also try disconnecting battery waiting a few mins then re-connect. Sometimes this clears a lot of silly glitches
 
  #14  
Old 02-06-2019, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2018
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 485
Received 102 Likes on 79 Posts
Default

Proof of insurance, registration, S&W .38 revolver w/hollow points. Oh, and a few napkins for when I start drooling over another driver's ride (or his passenger.)
 
  #15  
Old 02-06-2019, 09:45 AM
DJS
DJS is offline
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Metrowest Boston
Posts: 4,222
Received 980 Likes on 751 Posts
Default

I see in OzXFR's service manual that there are a few potential codes for the CJB (Central Junction Box) related to the glovebox's latch switch, but not much else.
 
  #16  
Old 03-08-2019, 01:57 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Socal
Posts: 21
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Sorry for the late update. I took it in for my dealer appointment and they applied yet another software update and it seems to be okay(for now). However the service advisor mentioned one of the new "features" of this update is that it will time out for several minutes after 5 quick repeatedly presses, to prolong the life of the motor. Kinda a strange feature, but at least my glove box can open now.
 
  #17  
Old 03-08-2019, 04:21 AM
jaguny's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: upstate new york
Posts: 4,846
Received 475 Likes on 426 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by powerhouse View Post
Does anyone ever use it for holding gloves
Yes, I store my driving gloves in there.
 
  #18  
Old 03-08-2019, 04:22 AM
jaguny's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: upstate new york
Posts: 4,846
Received 475 Likes on 426 Posts
Default

Why does a glove box need a motor? Unhinged; I see a weight savings mod here.
 
  #19  
Old 03-08-2019, 07:15 AM
malbec's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW England
Posts: 582
Received 184 Likes on 102 Posts
Default

An electrical,software controlled button to open the glovebox. What could possibly go wrong !
 
  #20  
Old 03-08-2019, 04:44 PM
Unhingd's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Maryland, US
Posts: 13,518
Received 3,126 Likes on 2,360 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jaguny View Post
Why does a glove box need a motor? Unhinged; I see a weight savings mod here.
If you let me strip all of the needless crap out of your car, I could get your R down to under 3300 lbs, if you insist on keeping your AWD.



 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Glove Box won't open


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: