Notices
General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Question on CTEK error

 
  #1  
Old 12-27-2018, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 987
Thanked 348 Times in 252 Posts
Default Question on CTEK error

Although the car in question is not a Jaguar, I bought four of these CTEK units for my classic cars on the advice of this forum so I'll post the question here. Two of the cars have Interstate brand AGM batteries, one a few months old and the other about 20 months. The older of the two has in the past several months begun to occasionally at random throw an error on the CTEK ostensibly indicating that the battery will not hold a charge. However, the battery always appears fully charged, always seemingly turning the motor over at full strength and starting the car without fail. Is the CTEK continuing to operate even though its detected an error or does it give up and stop at that point? I've swapped around the units and another CTEK has thrown the same code. Thinking that there was a battery drain, I'd disconnected the battery and still found a few weeks later, the error had returned. I've never had that error on the CTEK or any error for that matter, even on the ten year old failing lead batteries that I'd replaced. I'm wondering if there is really a problem with this AGM battery that I should try to get Interstate to replace it while its still under warranty. Wonder how I'd convince them? Or is there something weird about CTEK and AGM batteries?
 
  #2  
Old 12-28-2018, 02:03 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 23,011
Thanked 3,374 Times in 2,991 Posts
Default

Ask ctek!
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-2018, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 987
Thanked 348 Times in 252 Posts
Default

I'll try to contact them after the holidays, but you know how it is. Misery loves company. I'd feel more hopeful if somebody else posted that they'd experienced the same thing and successfully resolved it.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
PhantomsPhorever
XK / XKR ( X150 )
12
05-03-2015 08:50 AM
jehart49
XK / XKR ( X150 )
14
03-28-2015 11:00 AM
jrb53
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
3
09-20-2014 03:25 PM
bocatrip
XK / XKR ( X150 )
23
03-28-2014 07:03 PM
chazaroo
XK / XKR ( X150 )
2
02-10-2014 07:39 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Question on CTEK error


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: