General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Spray paint front bumper

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2021, 12:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spray paint front bumper

I am an electronics and mechanical engineer but i have no experience whatsoever in spraying car parts. Could anybody please give me the idiots guide to spraying the front bumper on my 2008 XF including what paint and materials i would need to buy. I already have a compressor and spray gun. Thanks in advance. Chris

Old 05-03-2021, 01:30 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,435 Likes on 1,941 Posts

Normal modern autopaints consist of (1) primer (2) surfacer (3) colour base coat, (not shiny), and (4) clear coat, (that gives the shine). In your case a bumper would need a special primer for plastic bumpers, the rest is the same. You may not need the surfacer, if the primer is hi-build type. You will have to find an autopaint factor to sell you the paint. If it were me, I'd have a look on the internet for car painting articles and videos. You will, ot course, need the flatting papers used for flatting (sanding) the bumper itself and the primer/surfacer. Normally you wouldn't flat the colour base coat if the clear coat is going on straightaway, but most people tend to "de-nib" with a fine paper before applying the clear coat. A lot depends on where you're doing the job, If you're in a garage, just remember that ll the spiders in the roof, on smelling the paint, will decide to bail out and land on you new and wet paint ! Don't ask me how I know.
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=ho...client=gws-wiz

Last edited by Fraser Mitchell; 05-03-2021 at 01:35 PM.
Old 05-03-2021, 04:42 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,841 Likes on 3,158 Posts