Jaguar Forums Feedback & Suggestion Center Need help with Jaguar Forums? Ask here! Have a suggestion to help improve Jaguar Forums? Tell us here....THIS SECTION IS NOT FOR TECHNICAL QUESTIONS

Is Login Broken?

 
  #1  
Old 08-22-2015, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 292
Received 120 Likes on 90 Posts
Default Is Login Broken?

This site keeps kicking me out if I leave my comp unattended. It's annoying because I go to post an answer to a thread and there's no 'reply' box!

I have the Remember Me ticked and the machine is left on (most computers fail during shutdown/start-up). So is the site broken?
 
The following users liked this post:
mrplow58 (08-22-2015)
  #2  
Old 08-22-2015, 01:18 PM
GGG's Avatar
GGG
GGG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 109,151
Received 10,342 Likes on 8,499 Posts
Default

I usually clear out cache once a month which automatically logs me out. Other than that I'm permanently logged in even if I close down my PC.

I'm running Windows 7 Home on this particular PC with FF 40.0.2 but the forum is the same on another PC running Windows 7 Ultimate and a laptop running Windows 10.

The forum was deliberately taken offline for very short periods by Internet Brands to apply updates.

Graham
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-2015, 01:29 PM
Jandreu's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 2,158
Received 579 Likes on 436 Posts
Default

same problem here, on windows system, ipad and iphone. For the last two days every time I go online I'm logged out.
 
The following users liked this post:
mrplow58 (08-22-2015)
  #4  
Old 08-22-2015, 02:30 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Douglasville Ga.
Posts: 7,628
Received 2,105 Likes on 1,800 Posts
Default

I think windows changed something. Click on History, then Clear Recent History. Look at the Details and see if Active Logins has been checked. If so uncheck.
 
  #5  
Old 08-22-2015, 03:58 PM
Jag#4's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Carrollton, Texas, US
Posts: 2,825
Received 607 Likes on 512 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RJ237 View Post
I think windows changed something.
Not Windows this time. I'm on a Mac and it happened to me too. Seems OK now tho.
 
The following users liked this post:
RJ237 (08-22-2015)
  #6  
Old 08-22-2015, 05:42 PM
GGG's Avatar
GGG
GGG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 109,151
Received 10,342 Likes on 8,499 Posts
Default

I've moved this from XK8/XKR to Jaguar Forums Feedback & Suggestion Center to get to the attention of all members.

Graham
 
The following users liked this post:
mrplow58 (08-22-2015)
  #7  
Old 08-22-2015, 07:44 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 3,946
Received 940 Likes on 598 Posts
Default

Glad to see this string - had the same problem.
 
  #8  
Old 08-23-2015, 08:03 AM
andrew lowe's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: croydon uk
Posts: 1,996
Received 411 Likes on 317 Posts
Default

Downloaded Windows 10 the other day, and now I can only access this forum using Edge.

If I go back to IE, the forum does not recognise my details, and will not let me log on?
 
  #9  
Old 08-23-2015, 08:25 AM
GGG's Avatar
GGG
GGG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 109,151
Received 10,342 Likes on 8,499 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by andrew lowe View Post
Downloaded Windows 10 the other day, and now I can only access this forum using Edge.

If I go back to IE, the forum does not recognise my details, and will not let me log on?
Have you reset Firefox as you default web browser?

Here it is on my Windows 10 laptop:

Is Login Broken?-windows-10.jpg

I used 'express' setup on this particular laptop just to see how everything works with Windows 10 as Microsoft intend it to run.

Graham
 
  #10  
Old 08-23-2015, 10:20 AM
plums's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: on-the-edge
Posts: 9,731
Received 2,117 Likes on 1,585 Posts
Default

For the user login retention problem after prolonged inactivity,
it is helpful to do a page refresh with ctrl-f5 before posting.

By doing so, you will either discover you are not logged in,
or reset the login timeout for a period long enough to post
safely.

This doesn't mean "remember me" is or is not broken. But,
at least you won't unexpectedly lose a post.

Another safety measure is to click within the text box,
right click, select all, copy. That puts a copy of the post
in the clipboard. If your post bombs, you can just try
again and paste it into the reply box.

Or shortcut the clicks with ctrl-a, then ctrl-c to put a copy
in your clipboard.
 
  #11  
Old 08-23-2015, 10:57 AM
andrew lowe's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: croydon uk
Posts: 1,996
Received 411 Likes on 317 Posts
Default

Thanks plums, but have gone back to windows 7.


Hell of a lot quicker than 10, and I can play DVDs, and run adblock, and access my emails in seconds, not over 5 mins (literally).


If I ever come across a Microsoft engineer, that had anything to do with windows 10, he is going to spend the rest of his life walking around with three adams apples.
 
  #12  
Old 08-23-2015, 11:07 AM
plums's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: on-the-edge
Posts: 9,731
Received 2,117 Likes on 1,585 Posts
Default

I'd bet he/she/they have been in hiding since pre-launch.

Windows 10 seems to be a fix so that they could back
down from the metro interface, which was LOUDLY and
WIDELY denounced during alpha. But, that team had
fallen in love with their creation and ignored all criticism.
Indeed, they loudly defended it and suggested that anyone
who did not like it was an idiot blocking "progress".

It is also the introduction of the subscription model.

Yawn.

Despite claims to the contrary, Vista is as fast as Windows 7
when properly tuned. And you have the familiar menus.

Of course, the zenith of Windows operating systems is Windows
Server 2003

And let's not forget Windows NT 4.0 sp6.

..
 
  #13  
Old 08-23-2015, 12:34 PM
Cadillac's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Planetarium
Posts: 11,353
Received 603 Likes on 420 Posts
Default

I doubt it's a Windows 10 related issue rather something has to do with the Internet Brands considering the fact that I had to log in in other car forum owned by Internet Brands too .
I did refresh the pages in another forum that is owned by something else ,not Internet Brands, it didn't prompt me to log in
I hope this post clears the fogs
 
  #14  
Old 08-28-2015, 08:55 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 785
Received 178 Likes on 144 Posts
Default

What I have encountered from day one is that logging into this site is the slowest and most problematic login I have encountered. I think it a byproduct of the sites success in getting advertisers as those adds take forever to load and are likely the reason for the problems? I have tried the remember me feature numerous times and it never works. The best site I have seen is the International S Type site as I just type the first couple of letters of my user name and it remembers it as well as my login and I click the ok login button and boom I am in versus the 4-10 minutes it takes to login to this site....
 
  #15  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:17 AM
GGG's Avatar
GGG
GGG is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Durham, UK
Posts: 109,151
Received 10,342 Likes on 8,499 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jimforrest (uk) View Post
This site keeps kicking me out if I leave my comp unattended. It's annoying because I go to post an answer to a thread and there's no 'reply' box!

I have the Remember Me ticked and the machine is left on (most computers fail during shutdown/start-up). So is the site broken?
Jim,

I've had an explanation from Internet Brands:

"We did perform a one-time forced log out on all members as part of recent maintenance, but anyone that has clicked "Remember Me" in the time since should once again have their login remembered."

If this is NOT the case, please respond in this thread.

They also commented on site speed as follows:

"..........there were some comments about site speeds and ad loading in that thread as well, and this is also something we're working to improve. In just the past few days, we've already removed some ads from our rotation that were identified as contributing to site slowdown. We're continuing to monitor and adjust as needed."

Graham
 
  #16  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:44 AM
plums's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: on-the-edge
Posts: 9,731
Received 2,117 Likes on 1,585 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GGG View Post
They also commented on site speed as follows:

"..........there were some comments about site speeds and ad loading in that thread as well, and this is also something we're working to improve. In just the past few days, we've already removed some ads from our rotation that were identified as contributing to site slowdown. We're continuing to monitor and adjust as needed."
I think IB is well aware from past commentary that the pages load a LOT of files
for each page.

On my last check, I think it was well over 50 files to load a single page.

Not all of them are necessary. For example, multiple web analytics calls.
They could certainly pare down the list. You can only analyse web
traffic so many ways.

Then there is the love of complex javascript packages and widgets.

Anything shiny and new seems to capture the imagination of the
designers.

A lot of it is borked, but they don't necessarily understand that
since they are third party packages that are not really well understood.

The joys of open farce software.

++
 
  #17  
Old 09-24-2015, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 785
Received 178 Likes on 144 Posts
Default login only marginally better

FYI,


I love this site but I HATE how much of a pain in the butt it is to login. There is so much advertisements that even when I wait the typical 2-3 minutes for them to fully load, I still often have issues logging in. My computer says this site is not responding due to too many scripts. I know you have to make money with advertisements but you should try to improve things for login. It still takes 4-5 minutes with typically 3-4 attempts to finally login. You should try it yourself using a more typical user login connection such as a AT & T wireless wifi router which I carry everywhere and you will see this site is so so slow. Even when I am at home with a wifi DSL the login time is about the same.
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
04Xjrsteve
XJ ( X351 )
3
05-07-2019 04:06 PM
MrWhite
XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 )
33
10-22-2015 10:29 AM
King Charles
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
6
10-16-2015 01:25 AM
adam699
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
4
10-13-2015 05:53 PM
inactualis
XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 )
7
10-02-2015 11:13 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Is Login Broken?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: