Mark V - X 420G 1948 - 1970

1953 Mk VII restoration

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2014, 05:01 PM
Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts
Default 1953 Mk VII restoration

Where to start...
I have always loved and owned old British cars. First love a Hillman Imp, always had one, still have my 1967 Sunbeam Chamois (a deluxe version of the Hillman Imp).
Triumph is a favorite make too. Started (1988) with a Herald 1200. Imported that from Belgium where they were cheaper - being a student I could not really afford a car so it had to be as cheap as possible. But I never wanted to own ordinary cars - no Opel or Volkswagen for me.
The Herald was replaced by a 2000 Mk2. Then a TR4, and an Austin Westminster A110. Then a 2000 Mk1, a Jensen Interceptor Mk1, Triumph 2500 Mk2, finally a Jaguar 420. A couple of these cars I still have, including the 420.

Not sure why but in the last years I got more attracted to 50s styling. Love the Bentley Mk VI, or an AC 2-litre, or a Riley RM. Or a big Jaguar, the Mk IV the ultimate but too expensive, not fond of the Mk V styling. Or a Mk VII - IX...

So I started searching for a Mk VII, I love the early details (split front window, small rear lamps). These are rare in Continental Europe - I wanted a LHD.
Ebay is an interesting place... I had bought cars from Ebay before, a 1959 Rover 90 for my brother which he still has.

Finally found my Mk VII in New York, which was a bonus as shipping costs to Europe are much cheaper from the East Coast. The seller was an old man (according to himself) which wanted to sell his classics. He was not very good in emailing - most was written by him on a phone so had many typo errors and such. Also questions were not always answered or very late.