New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

From Corvette to XJ8

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2012, 03:55 AM
Received 78 Likes on 25 Posts
Default From Corvette to XJ8

Hi,

I do not own a Jag yet but I am getting close.

I have been driving a 1986 corvette convertible every day since 1999 (when I bought it in San Fransisco area). I have been back in France since 2002 and the corvette continue to give loyal services, provided I give her the little attentions her age require. Recently went through replacement of engine head valve stem seals, rear hubs and U joints, front ball joints. A bit painful to do at home but eventually everything went almost smooth with time and a couple of special tools like a ball joint extraction kit.

Now that the family gets bigger, it is time to look for a bigger car. I decided that I did not want to look for a larger sport car but rather keep the C4 corvette for when we are just 2 of us and look for a sedan for familly use. I have had a look at Mercedes and BMWs for some time. I was hesitating between BMW850i or Mercedes 600SL but never jumped the final step. It is not until recently that another idea come to my mind. I could recall some fuzzy images of Jaguar sedans with 4 round head lights. So I jumped on google and fouud out that the car I need is Jaguar/Daimler XJ8 supercharged from the 1997-2002 period.

So after discarding a couple of them that were showing little signs of care over the past recent years, I found this one:

(hmm, preview not showing, maybe I am too much a newbie)

Anyway, car look OK, 1998, under 100kmiles, several 4 digits bills in the recent years (front seats restoration, front suspensions/brakes/bal joints) and 10k€ price tag.