New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

New to Jags but not to working on vehicles

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2019, 05:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Jags but not to working on vehicles

Hello. I'm new to Jags, but fairly knowledgeable to working on vehicles. I'm a little stumped on this one however. I have an 07 Jag S type 3.0 that I recently purchased. Test drive went fine. Took for long enough to get to running temp while doing low and high load. No hesitation, no lights, slight burning smell (guy recently replaced both cats), and was very nice overall. Wasn't driven between test drive and purchase (just couple days). He also had put new battery in it. Wasn't much gas, so put enough to get home (drive that took about 55 miles). Drive went fine. Sat couple days. Drove around for some errands and filled tank. Drove fine till after filled up. Started hesitating by time got home (about 5 miles) and started flashing engine light and another yellow light with info saying "restricted performance". I've limited running it to try to diagnose it. OBDII gives 2 codes. One is misfire cylinder 5 (P0305) and other is misfire on start up under 1k rpm (forgot number). I've added "Heet" with injector cleaner in case had moisture from sitting, anti ethanol additive, and octane booster (since calls for 91 or higher octane, but filled with 89 octane). Has yet to run right. Lights and message will go off after erase codes and will stay off, come on when try accelerate, go off while steady speed, not come on when restart, and come on when restart. The only sure thing is that the engine light will come on and the other light, and message, comes and goes. I have tools but no "shop" tools/instruments. Sorry for the long post... Please help!

Old 01-19-2019, 06:13 PM
Received 10,312 Likes on 6,822 Posts

Welcome.