Other Jaguar Models / Concepts / Replicas Do you have a Jaguar model not listed above? This is the place to talk about it!

Suggestions for a V-12 to drop in an XJ-13 replica?

Old 10-28-2013, 10:14 PM
Received 17 Likes on 4 Posts
Smile Suggestions for a V-12 to drop in an XJ-13 replica?

I am planning to have built a replica of the XJ-13 and wondered what suggestions folks might have for the power train if I choose to use an injected V-12 Jag motor. I am new to the Jag world so please understand I don't necessarily know all the right questions to ask.

Some have suggested forgetting originality and going with a crate motor from another manf. (e.g. a GM LS-3 engine). This is obviously anathema to others. I am considering that approach but also want to look at what the options are for using a Jag V-12 or perhaps another Jag engine type.

No idea where to find such engines, what transmission and clutch to pair with them, what to budget for cost, etc. Any thoughts welcome. Thx in advance.

Old 10-29-2013, 06:50 PM
GGG
Received 16,746 Likes on 12,140 Posts

Welcome to the forum spinsky,

That sounds a hugely desirable although very costly project.

Probably the best forum for advice on the V12 Jaguar engines has to be XJS - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum for the XJS models.

The guys there will be able to advise on the various stages of development of the Jaguar V12 unit. They should also have a handle on what has already been done and what could be possible.

Good luck and keep us up-to-date with progress.

Graham

Old 10-30-2013, 06:17 PM

Thx Graham--I'll check out that forum. I appreciate the tip. Till next time,
Scott

Old 12-24-2013, 06:41 PM
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Hi Scott,
If you are serious about building this replica of probably one of the most beautiful and exotic machines ever built.
PLEASE don't use the most common of all engines in it!
SBC stands for Small Boring Chevy.