S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Adding a amplifier to a factory amplifier

 
  #1  
Old 04-27-2012, 11:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 81
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Adding a amplifier to a factory amplifier

Morning/afternoon

I previously own (Nissan Altima aka blue bird). i had a 2 channel amp made by Audiofonics and one 12'' subwhoofer, also made by audiofonics with the factor head unit still install. I did the install myself so im pretty familiar in the stall in amps and subs and audiofonics provide an Hi level input adapter just in case you don't have an aftermarket radio setup. Using the Hi level input adapter i would just have to connect the negatives and positives wires to the rear speaker and plug in the RCA wire to the amp. Yesterday i rip out my amp and my subs to add in my 04 jag s-type 3.0 non/nav built amp/cdc and i notice that the rear speaker are on the doors. (smh) Now my question to you all!!!! Is that is there a way using the input adapter to connect the positives and negative wire to the factory Amp to get a sound/signal to my aftermarket amp. If there is please provide the color wires or a Pic so i can have an idea... thank you

p.ss sorry if a did any miss typo or spelling im currently at work
 
  #2  
Old 04-28-2012, 05:41 PM
Jag Breeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 241
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Hey I added an amp to my 01 jaguar and one way you can find out which is positive or negative is use an volt meter that's normally what I use when I can't find a diagram
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-2012, 09:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 81
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jag Breeder View Post
Hey I added an amp to my 01 jaguar and one way you can find out which is positive or negative is use an volt meter that's normally what I use when I can't find a diagram
Just to make sure that were talk about the right thing here !!!!! I'm not trying to draw power from the amp. I'm trying to draw a sound source from the factory amp. Are you refer this in the same since?
 
  #4  
Old 04-29-2012, 10:49 AM
Jag Breeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 241
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Yes we're talking about the same thing . Question do you already have the adapter? If not I might be able to help save tremendously from buying too high priced adapter. not sure what kind of adapter you have but after you hook up your + & - the adapter should only receive the sound signal to the input side and your hook up for your amp that you'll be adding hooks up regularly the only thing that should be hooked up to the adapter from the amp is the RCA cables if you want I can send you a picture of my adapter and set up of it and help you out as much as I can
 
  #5  
Old 04-30-2012, 07:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 81
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jag Breeder View Post
Yes we're talking about the same thing . Question do you already have the adapter? If not I might be able to help save tremendously from buying too high priced adapter. not sure what kind of adapter you have but after you hook up your + & - the adapter should only receive the sound signal to the input side and your hook up for your amp that you'll be adding hooks up regularly the only thing that should be hooked up to the adapter from the amp is the RCA cables if you want I can send you a picture of my adapter and set up of it and help you out as much as I can
Hi again ..... yes can you please send me Picture of your adapter and the setup of your install please . You can email me a [email protected] thank you Rick.
 

Last edited by cel2620xl; 04-30-2012 at 07:41 AM. Reason: mistypo
  #6  
Old 05-02-2012, 10:53 AM
Jag Breeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 241
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Cel2620xl hey I sent the email with pictures attached and information
 
  #7  
Old 05-02-2012, 11:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 81
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jag Breeder View Post
Cel2620xl hey I sent the email with pictures attached and information
Hi.... i got your email but no picture/attachment ...
 
  #8  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:10 PM
Jag Breeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 241
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

OK I sent them again they should come through now
 
The following users liked this post:
cel2620xl (05-02-2012)
  #9  
Old 05-02-2012, 03:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 81
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by cel2620xl View Post
Hi again ..... yes can you please send me Picture of your adapter and the setup of your install please . You can email me a [email protected] thank you Rick.
HI... again i got your email and thank you. The audiofonics Hi level input adapter i have is some what the same as your, but not the same so i took a few pictures so i can give you an idea with want i'm working with . Now my question to you all!!!! Is that is there a way using the input adapter to connect the positives and negative wire to the factory Amp to get a sound/signal to my aftermarket amp.
 
Attached Thumbnails Adding a amplifier to a factory amplifier-audiofonics-hi-level-input-adapter.jpg   Adding a amplifier to a factory amplifier-dsc_0262.jpg   Adding a amplifier to a factory amplifier-dsc_0255.jpg  

Last edited by cel2620xl; 05-02-2012 at 03:11 PM.
  #10  
Old 05-02-2012, 04:12 PM
Jag Breeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 241
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Is that the amp on top of CDs player
 
  #11  
Old 05-02-2012, 04:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 81
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jag Breeder View Post
Is that the amp on top of CDs player
Yes... that the amp on top of CDC
 
  #12  
Old 05-02-2012, 08:57 PM
Jag Breeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 241
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

OK I'll help you out as much as I can check your forums message box
 
  #13  
Old 06-01-2012, 10:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 81
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi Again i remove the Factor amp and CDC to figure out the color code wire. in the process i notice the power connector for the factor amp is know where to be found, but i see the other two audio connector. As far for the CDC i found both power connector and Audio connector. Where can i find the power cord for the factor amp? i look every where.
 
Attached Thumbnails Adding a amplifier to a factory amplifier-cimg0015.jpg   Adding a amplifier to a factory amplifier-cimg0013.jpg  
  #14  
Old 06-05-2012, 09:19 AM
Jag Breeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 241
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

The power cord for the amp should be plugged into the amplifier
 
  #15  
Old 06-08-2012, 06:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 81
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jag Breeder View Post
The power cord for the amp should be plugged into the amplifier
I know where the power cord should be plugged in to. What im say is the amplifier power cord is missing. the only power cord i see is CDC....
 
  #16  
Old 06-11-2012, 06:23 AM
Jag Breeder's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 241
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Aw gotcha I'm not sure unless it's tucked off in a crazy area of in the car but it should be something showing that it was removed or cut out or something
 
  #17  
Old 08-08-2018, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 169
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jag Breeder View Post
Hey I added an amp to my 01 jaguar and one way you can find out which is positive or negative is use an volt meter that's normally what I use when I can't find a diagram
what type of amp did you add?
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Larry-Cleveland
X-Type ( X400 )
2
02-09-2019 03:17 PM
Johncy2000
XJ ( X351 )
4
10-02-2015 01:05 AM
Jaguar Forums Editor
Jaguar Press release
0
09-28-2015 05:18 PM
42Ajd
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade or Buy Classifieds
0
09-26-2015 07:04 PM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Adding a amplifier to a factory amplifier


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: