S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air conditioning issue

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2015, 12:23 PM
Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
Default Air conditioning issue

For at least a month or so, maybe more, I have had an issue with my air conditioning. It blows extremely hot. Like its on the max temperature possible. The temperature drops maybe 2 or 3 degrees if I put it at the lowest temperature. Which leads me to believe that the air conditioning part responsible for heating the air is no longer responding to my inputs and is on, at max power 24/7. It seems that when i lower the temperature to the lowest possible that the air cooling does work but is being overpowered by the heating element of the air conditioning. Im no expert but its what makes sense to me. I had 3 mechanics look at it the first being a Jaguar dealership, who take me for a fool and wanted to replace the whole air conditioning unit! The second mechanic told me the heater valve was malfunctioning and I had that replaced. Still having the same issue. The third mechanic a Jaguar only mechanic told me my free-on level is low and the compressor is showing fatigue and needs to be replaced. However if it was an issue with the compressor would it not be warm air? and not very very hot air? What i mean is if the cooling element of the air conditioning is not working or not working as well as it should then i would expect a lack of cold air, maybe even warm air but not super hot air as it is blowing now. I believe replacing the compressor and refilling the free-on will not get my air conditioner to stop blowing super hot.

So my question is, im i thinking on the right path here? has anyone had an issue like this?