Hints, tips, and tricks... - Page 3 - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Notices
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hints, tips, and tricks...

  #41  
Old 09-28-2011, 11:49 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 22,799
Thanked 3,324 Times in 2,948 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SchultzLD View Post
On post #9 in that link you sent Steve referred to a "kickdown switch" that activates sport mode. From what you posted, and from what Steve has posted on that other thread I get this...

In D/Normal mode if you push the throttle down far enough to press the APP sensor (kickdown switch) the TCM adapts to the sport mode shift logic while that button is pressed.

Am I interpreting this correct? I hope so, because that is very kewl that Jaguar thought of that and installed a (oh-****/Go go go!!!) button. lol
Steve only mentions it for the 4.0 on a different jag (note the forum his posts are in). The S-Type doesn't have such a switch, just the software that more-or-less mimics one.
 
  #42  
Old 09-28-2011, 11:59 AM
SchultzLD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 369
Thanked 151 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Ah, yea you’re right. So what is the button under the throttle for then? It is hard to push, and only gets pushed under hard WOT. You really have to mash ur foot down, but when you do there is a very noticeable difference. Or is that just the result of what you were talking about... the APP. Even so, I'm still really curious as to what exactly that button dose. It really seems to fit both what you and Steve mention.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to SchultzLD For This Useful Post:
jag79 (09-30-2011)
  #43  
Old 09-29-2011, 06:44 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,178
Thanked 84 Times in 61 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by JagV8 View Post
NO YOU CAN'T. We're talking about the ZF and that DOES NOT RESET that way.

I keep saying this. I keep saying this. I keep........

You can clear the PCM's learned behaviours, mostly nothing to do with shifts etc, but no need to touch terminals. Don't touch them too soon after disconnection unless you want to risk a disastrous electrical spike.
....Ohhh my bad I thought you were talking about the PCM's to be reset, but yeah the trans shift points can't be reset nor changed Many on here with the exhaust mods including me have touched cables(Neg to Pos) without any problems(knock on wood) after exhaust mod changes. Makes a difference for sure once its reset
 
  #44  
Old 09-30-2011, 10:21 AM
SchultzLD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 369
Thanked 151 Times in 54 Posts
Default

The only thing touching the terminals does is speed up the dissipation of the stored charge. But doing so too soon, like JagV8 said CAN cause problems. Just let it sit for a few min disconnected. That way you'll be sure not to run into any problems. I had one buddy tell me that you have to let it sit over night, but that don’t make since to me… I’ve at the most let it sit for a hr once or twice when I was on a beer run…

BTW on every vehicle I've owned '96 or newer (OBDII) regardless if it had adaptive stuff like the Jag does. I've done a hard re-set at LEAST twice a year. Winter and Summer. I've read/heard somewhere through the years that this will help the ECU optimize and re-learn the air density running through the MAF. Efficacy, MPG, A/F, Power, Smoothness.

Don't know if it's a "Mechanics tail" or not.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to SchultzLD For This Useful Post:
jag79 (09-30-2011)
  #45  
Old 09-30-2011, 11:46 AM
GoKittyGo's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 783
Thanked 45 Times in 39 Posts
Default

My 05 seems to be specially equipped with a mood elevator. I've found that anytime a crappy day is being had, a drive in the Jag seems to clear it away.


With the window global up--can that still be dealer activated in a 6yo car?
 
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GoKittyGo For This Useful Post:
joycesjag (10-02-2011), Silver Flyer (10-26-2015)
  #46  
Old 09-30-2011, 01:20 PM
SchultzLD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 369
Thanked 151 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GoKittyGo View Post
My 05 seems to be specially equipped with a mood elevator. I've found that anytime a crappy day is being had, a drive in the Jag seems to clear it away.


With the window global up--can that still be dealer activated in a 6yo car?

I like the mood elevator option as well. I'm sure that came standard.

But to answer you question. Yes it can.
 

Last edited by SchultzLD; 10-04-2011 at 12:28 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to SchultzLD For This Useful Post:
buckweedz (09-23-2012)
  #47  
Old 09-30-2011, 02:27 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 22,799
Thanked 3,324 Times in 2,948 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SchultzLD View Post
Ah, yea youíre right. So what is the button under the throttle for then? It is hard to push, and only gets pushed under hard WOT. You really have to mash ur foot down, but when you do there is a very noticeable difference. Or is that just the result of what you were talking about... the APP. Even so, I'm still really curious as to what exactly that button dose. It really seems to fit both what you and Steve mention.
If there's a button, it's likely (*) to be like my last car: just mechanical to give you feedback so you know you've requested WOT. Not wired to anything.

(*) I've not gone grubbing under the pedal to check what's there - it's kinda tight in there and access is dire when you have a bad back!
 
  #48  
Old 10-01-2011, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Niagara Falls Ontario Canada
Posts: 220
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

What an awesome list!
Before I go and try this one out.......what does it do? I just do not want to mess up my car!

I have a 2006 stype 3.0 sport.
Thanks and have a great day!

- Navigation systems, to enter the diagnostic menu you press and hold the Phone and Menu buttons simultaneously for about 5 seconds. Then enter PIN 917.
 
Attached Thumbnails Hints, tips, and tricks...-car-summer-2010.jpg  
  #49  
Old 10-01-2011, 10:47 AM
Cadillac's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Planetarium
Posts: 11,353
Thanked 600 Times in 420 Posts
Default

Hey, I am stickying this thread so that anyone with S Type can reach this thread easily
 
  #50  
Old 10-01-2011, 11:22 AM
Delta66's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 504
Thanked 25 Times in 16 Posts
Default

1 - put copper grease between the alloy wheel and hub to stop the wheel binding to the hub making changing a tyre that much harder.

2 - if you get any electrical gremlins, before you do anything else, check the battery is working properly, or else the engine's management system gets what it thinks are fault messages.

3 - if the remove fob stops working, open it up and check that the small piece of metal that acts as a contact for the battery is still in place. It can slip just enough that whilst the battery still has a charge, it no longer supplies it to the fob, hence it no longer works.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to Delta66 For This Useful Post:
Silver Flyer (10-26-2015)
  #51  
Old 10-02-2011, 03:07 AM
wcabro's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Amersfoort , Netherlands
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

The Global closing function is working in my car including the sunroof.

But if I remember well, and I can only speak with knowledge of the European regulation: this global close function with the remote control was not allowed after 2004 for new registrations.

I think it is a nice function and use it only to close the sunroof, as I normally forgot to close before getting out f the car.

Thanks SchultzLD for this list, I will try the cup holder to remove.

b.t.w. this code for the hidden menu in the Sat Nav is 1971 on my car.

Ciao William
 
  #52  
Old 10-02-2011, 11:04 AM
aholbro1's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Decatur, TX
Posts: 4,363
Thanked 1,324 Times in 923 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by GoKittyGo View Post
With the window global up--can that still be dealer activated in a 6yo car?
Anything that was dealer-configurable when your car was new should be available from the dealer or an independent who has WDS/IDS. You may initially find some resistance depending on the Tech's training/knowledge/experience with the software and its interaction with your model year, but just keep asking...
 
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to aholbro1 For This Useful Post:
GoKittyGo (10-04-2011), Silver Flyer (10-26-2015)
  #53  
Old 10-03-2011, 08:59 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upland, CA.
Posts: 5,447
Thanked 764 Times in 549 Posts
Default

With winter and cooler weather coming upon us, it's time to recheck tire pressures.
I understand (I'm not an expert on this) that for every 10* F change, the tire pressure will change 1#.
If I'm wrong, please feel free to correct me.
Now, I don't know what that translates to in British measurements...could be a litre per fortnight for all I know... but worth getting the tire/tyre guages out and keeping the tires/tyres happy.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to Jayt2 For This Useful Post:
Silver Flyer (10-26-2015)
  #54  
Old 10-04-2011, 03:17 PM
SchultzLD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 369
Thanked 151 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Thx for all the input. The list grows!
 
  #55  
Old 10-11-2011, 12:11 PM
SchultzLD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 369
Thanked 151 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Here are two pictures of the alleged "WOT" switch I'm talking about. You can see that on the back side of the throttle arm is a paddle that pushes the button in a true FULL WOT. The button itself is kind of hard to push. One of the pictures you can read the numbers for the pedal position sensor, the WOT switch IS attached to that sensor.

Can someone please look this up and explain WHAT that switch does and if it is truly a WOT switch or if is just a mechanical (you are floored to the max) physical reminder? Please read the past few post in this thread to get caught up if you are just now tuning in. lol

Thanks all.

EDIT: I looked up the number and it comes back as just a 04 JAG S TYPE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. No detailed info that I can find.
 
Attached Thumbnails Hints, tips, and tricks...-wot1.jpg   Hints, tips, and tricks...-wot2.jpg  

Last edited by SchultzLD; 10-11-2011 at 12:16 PM.
  #56  
Old 10-30-2011, 11:40 AM
KLeC's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 51
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I didn't realize for months that there is also a trunk button just above the license plate. It faces down and is basically hidden. Great thread!
 
  #57  
Old 10-30-2011, 02:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 85
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

A big 'Thank You' for starting this page.
Those little shortcuts are handy to have.
Does anyone know if there are service access features so that the diagnostic codes can be displayed. I build commercial HMI applications and I generally have several levels of access to provide convenient access to features / data that you would not ordinarily display. Not necessarily because you want to prevent access but not to over-complicate the controls. Sometimes it can be configured as an expert or normal display...
 
  #58  
Old 10-30-2011, 02:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 85
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SchultzLD View Post
Now that's funny. I wonder if the tech even knew it go down further? lol But anyways, thx for the input. Now we know 04-05 3.0's have it. I'm still waiting for a STR input as well as a more "technical" term for that WOT, temp-normal mode disengagement, temp-sport mode engagement, kick down button thing. lol
I have the STR and with the S mode it seems a lot snappier. I'm reluctant to test the kick down mode - I can be doing over a 100 in not too many seconds and run out of road and nerve in a heartbeat!

I guess I need to find an open road without any, er hem, 'obstacles'!
 
The Following User Says Thank You to SimoCat For This Useful Post:
Silver Flyer (10-26-2015)
  #59  
Old 12-01-2011, 12:21 PM
SchultzLD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 369
Thanked 151 Times in 54 Posts
Default

The list grows again! This forum makes me feel smart... or (Speek out loud as you read the letters) S M R T... lol
 
  #60  
Old 12-01-2011, 10:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 85
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Yes, would love to know all the extra access codes to see, for example, diagnostic info.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Hints, tips, and tricks...


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: