Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2017, 10:46 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,984 Likes on 1,401 Posts
Default Looking for info on the AC compressor spring mod

Greetings All,

Copied from another thread, so as not to hijack that one:

Originally Posted by Jumpin' Jag Flash
Agreed. I did this [reversed the compressor spring] to our 3.0L S-Types and it made an instantly huge difference in A/C performance.
I've been working on a (long-winded) troubleshooting guide for the HVAC system. I plan to incorporate all the good advice given in this forum, but compile it in an easily followed format that covers most symptoms. In other words, if you have this, check that, etc.

One thing where I'd really like to learn more is the service bulletin to reverse the AC compressor spring.

http://jagrepair.com/images/TSB/S-Ty...fficiently.pdf

I have no experience with this, as my car's AC has performed very well. It's very possible the mod was done before I bought the car, I just don't know. My thoughts are next time I have the system open I'll investigate further, but for now there's no compelling reason.

For those more familiar with this modification, can you please describe the symptoms? The bulletin vaguely says "AC system not cooling sufficiently" and that's it. Was the problem under all conditions? Or maybe just stop and go driving?

Had the AC performance been slowly dropping off, or was it sudden?

For those who've done the mod, do you think SOME of the improvement came being properly serviced afterwards? I'm not doubting the mod helps, but do have to wonder if that was part of it.

​​​​​​​Does anybody have any pictures?

Thanks for any help and comments.

Old 06-14-2017, 11:16 AM
Veteran Member
Location: Pawleys Island, SC USA (formerly from Tabernacle, NJ USA)
Received 182 Likes on 158 Posts

Great idea!