S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

02 v8 fan running slow until shut down and restart

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2024, 04:23 AM
Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts
Default 02 v8 fan running slow until shut down and restart

Ok so just a little background on whats going on here. I've been on these forums for 2 decades(lost original account pw)and have received tonnes of help from yall over that time especially from Jagv8, kr, jag genius(changed my window regulator for a small fee in real life when I was a rookie wrencher)and nbcat. In that time I've accumulated an 01 v6, 2002 v8(purchased in 04) and a 2003 v6. The 4.0 v8 is nearing a quarter million miles and its by far my favorite car I've owned and I've had plenty cars. Last summer I had a minor issue where the car overheated I shut it down fire er back up and all was well. Since then I've only really had time to drive it on weekends so not much stop and go traffic. Around Christmas I noticed a coolant leak which was followed by similar overheat issue. I decided to replace the water pump, heater hose(was fun), radiator(also fun), fan, ect sensor, thermostat and housing only to run into the same overheating issue. I'm willing to throw another 2 decade old fan at it but at this point I'm thinking its something shorting out because the fan spins extremely slow as Temps climb only for me to shut off the car and then it spins full speed. If I then start the car as the fan is in high speed it then stays in high speed for however long the engine is on. Very strange issue because after this shut down and restart the car is perfect and can idle in traffic fine. Haven't decided whether to install a secondary fan before the scorching heat of summer arrives or continue monitoring the Temps and when it gets close to 110°c, shut down wait 20sec restart and continue my cruise. Keep in mind the car is just a toy at this point (daily for 18yrs) the other two s types my sons