X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Abs, and speedometer not working

 
  #1  
Old 04-07-2019, 08:16 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Abs, and speedometer not working

I just bought a 2003 x type jag and the ABS light is on and the Speedometer is not working and the car likes to bog down when i try to press the gas to go. So i have to take it kind of slow to take off. Only code i get is p1000. Guy i bought it from said he just replace back two abs sencors but cant reset system. Will a hard reset fix this? Or what do i do?
 
  #2  
Old 04-07-2019, 09:51 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,897
Received 359 Likes on 335 Posts
Default

Hmmm....sort of more than odd that ABS light would be on and no code. The challenge here may be the reader you are using. Chassis codes and many other types do not show up on an inexpensive generic OBD2 reader. The p1000 is showing that there is a problem, or that previous (not current) code(s) were cleared and the drive cycle has not been completed. The best readers are iCarSoft i930 & iCarSoft LRii for complete diagnostics and even relay actuation availability.
 
The following users liked this post:
BlownKitty (04-09-2019)
  #3  
Old 04-07-2019, 10:03 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am guessing the previous owner reset the codes. But after I drove it home no other lights came on and no other codes came on. I have a MaxiLink ML329 reader(cheaper one i know) but i would think something would have read. I drove it like 90 miles back to my place.
 
  #4  
Old 04-07-2019, 10:39 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 875
Received 63 Likes on 59 Posts
Default

Speedometer and ECM know speed from ABS sensors. If ABS module is bad, speedometer will not show speed. Check ABS codes. I have extra ABS module.
Transmissions of many cars do not have speed sensors if car has ABS.
Yesterday I was replacing transmission in some Toyota and "new" transmission had speed sensor, but old one didn't, because the car has ABS.
 

Last edited by car5car; 04-08-2019 at 05:57 PM.
  #5  
Old 04-08-2019, 10:28 AM
avern1's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Winchester, CA
Posts: 2,800
Received 1,050 Likes on 823 Posts
Default

Actions of the speedometer are controlled by the ECM by averaging the speed input from the four wheels. If a wheel sensor goes bad the ECM will average the speed based on the remaining 3. If 2 sensors go bad the speedometer will read 0. You can retrieve the codes and test the speedometer by entering the engineering test mode ETM. Using the Trip button on turn signal stalk, press in while turning ignition on (but not starting), we can enter what is known as ETM mode. The information will appear in the instrument cluster message center. You press in on trip button to advance to each test on the ETM. One of the tests will cause the RPM and SPEED needles to sweep and return to zero. That would indicate they are working. Write down any C-codes, or U-codes you get and post them and we can help further.
 
  #6  
Old 04-08-2019, 11:45 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Only code i saw was for it is C-297, and c 2g89
 
  #7  
Old 04-08-2019, 11:48 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

When in test mode i go to gages and speedodometer shudders alittle but RPM dosent move at all
 
  #8  
Old 04-08-2019, 02:23 PM
avern1's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Winchester, CA
Posts: 2,800
Received 1,050 Likes on 823 Posts
Default

Unfortunately based on the results my next recommendation would be to take it to a dealer or find a Independent shop that has the software to interrogate the modules. The reactions you are seeing are most likely a CAN bus error and a scanner is probably not going to help in locating the offending component. You might inquire from the previous owner what other work has been done that might lead to an area to look at.
Hopefully others will chime in and help with a resolution.
 
  #9  
Old 04-08-2019, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 875
Received 63 Likes on 59 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by avern1 View Post
Unfortunately based on the results my next recommendation would be to take it to a dealer or find a Independent shop that has the software to interrogate the modules. The reactions you are seeing are most likely a CAN bus error and a scanner is probably not going to help in locating the offending component. You might inquire from the previous owner what other work has been done that might lead to an area to look at.
Hopefully others will chime in and help with a resolution.
1.Check ABS codes
2.Diagnose the codes: test sensor. wires.
This is exactly what I did:
I had left rear wheel sensor code.
I checked sensor, checked wires (turned out to be OK), replaced ABS module. No big deal, except I had to get 5 used ABS module, only 4th one was good.
 
  #10  
Old 04-09-2019, 10:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 82
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by car5car View Post
1.Check ABS codes
2.Diagnose the codes: test sensor. wires.
This is exactly what I did:
I had left rear wheel sensor code.
I checked sensor, checked wires (turned out to be OK), replaced ABS module. No big deal, except I had to get 5 used ABS module, only 4th one was good.

Originally Posted by car5car View Post
I have extra ABS module.
and which of the 5 used ABS modules do you now have as an "extra"?

I'm only asking/interested to protect our newer forum members from possible unscrupulous actions from person/persons.
 
  #11  
Old 04-09-2019, 10:53 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 875
Received 63 Likes on 59 Posts
Default

del
 

Last edited by car5car; 04-09-2019 at 11:02 PM.
  #12  
Old 04-09-2019, 10:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 82
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dell Gailey View Post
Hmmm....sort of more than odd that ABS light would be on and no code. The challenge here may be the reader you are using. Chassis codes and many other types do not show up on an inexpensive generic OBD2 reader. The p1000 is showing that there is a problem, or that previous (not current) code(s) were cleared and the drive cycle has not been completed. The best readers are iCarSoft i930 & iCarSoft LRii for complete diagnostics and even relay actuation availability.
Thanks Dell,

Though I have cheepy Innova reader and a ELM327 running Torque Pro, I just ordered a LRii for $150.00 off of Amazon. I like that the LRii is specific to Jaguar and Land Rover as I don't typically play with Toyota's.

Cheers,

BK
 
  #13  
Old 04-09-2019, 11:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 82
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by car5car View Post
2 out of 5 are good.
I was selling parts on ebay for about 10 years or so. 100% positive 1500 feedbacks
Which contradicts your post stating "No big deal, except I had to get 5 used ABS module, only 4th one was good".

Me thinks that the the math doesn't quite add-up...

Let's break this down a bit for those that lack basic math skills, or might possibly be unscrupulous.

If Johnny bought 5 apples and only 1 was good, if Johnny ate the the good apple, out of the 5 apples that johnny bought how many good apples does Johnny have left?

and BTW C5 your Ebay feedback rating means absolutely d**ck here unless you're trying to sell something!
 

Last edited by BlownKitty; 04-10-2019 at 12:20 AM.
  #14  
Old 04-10-2019, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 875
Received 63 Likes on 59 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BlownKitty View Post
Which contradicts your post stating "No big deal, except I had to get 5 used ABS module, only 4th one was good".

Me thinks that the the math doesn't quite add-up...

Let's break this down a bit for those that lack basic math skills, or might possibly be unscrupulous.

If Johnny bought 5 apples and only 1 was good, if Johnny ate the the good apple, out of the 5 apples that johnny bought how many good apples does Johnny have left?

and BTW C5 your Ebay feedback rating means absolutely d**ck here unless you're trying to sell something!
you definitely need to stop smoking! Maybe your brain will start working!
I got 5 ABS used modules
I tested them until 4th one turned out to be good. I still have 5th one.
Are you with me so far? How old are you, 80? How is your blood pressure?
 

Last edited by car5car; 04-10-2019 at 08:08 AM.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bullittandy
XJS ( X27 )
17
03-03-2017 04:44 PM
xjrjag
X-Type ( X400 )
2
09-24-2015 11:20 AM
Eurowerks
XJ6 & XJ12 Series I, II & III
7
02-01-2015 10:00 AM
Hustle Hyde
X-Type ( X400 )
5
12-01-2013 01:34 AM
rickytmartin
S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 )
3
08-16-2009 09:35 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Abs, and speedometer not working


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: