X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake Bleeding Problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2013, 10:33 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Brake Bleeding Problem

Hi I am new to this forum, so I hope I have posted this in the correct place as this is the only new thread link I could find.
I have replaced my Master Brake Cylinder and have now bled the wheels and the ABS HCU, but I cannot get any brake pressure on the pedal.
Has anyone got any advice please

Old 04-02-2013, 10:38 AM

Forgot to say, it is a Jaguar x-type 2L 2005

Old 04-02-2013, 03:42 PM
Received 178 Likes on 153 Posts

You must prebleed the M/C on bench before installing. If installed then bled ABS full of air and will be hard to get out. Keep bleeding until pedal firm. There is usually bleeders on ABS pump but must adhere to proper bleeding instructions very strictly, I do not know them.

Old 04-03-2013, 12:26 AM
Received 219 Likes on 97 Posts

Hahaha! its ok dude. I am an experienced mechanic, I pre bled this car and I still got the same problem. What you have to do it get a buddy to sit inside the car, step on the brake pedal and hold it down, and you crack the lines to the abs module just slightly, when his foot goes down then tighten and tell him to step on it again. The trick in this is patience. then bleed your wheels.

Best of luck, and when in doubt, it might be time to call an expert, we don't want you to mess around with your brakes as they are important!!!

Last edited by plums; 08-09-2013 at 10:04 PM. Reason: commercial link removed
Old 04-03-2013, 08:20 AM

Thanks for help
Have already bled ABS and wheels, but still have no brakes.
New brake fluid had already been installed but DOT 4 was recommended at the time.
Currently in process of changing brake pads to see if that helps.

Old 04-03-2013, 11:19 PM