X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

e Brake Problem - Caliper Questions. Help!

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2011, 11:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default e Brake Problem - Caliper Questions. Help!

2004 X-Type 2.5L Manual:
Reading various threads, I think my e-brake problem is due to a bad caliper. I have not figured out which one has gone bad yet - I'll jack up one wheel at a time and try to spin it while applying e-brake.

As I'm a complete newbie working on brakes, here are my questions.

1. Is an e-brake pad separate than a foot brake pad?
2. Are the two installed within the caliper?
3. Do I need to replace foot brake pad when replacing the caliper?
4. Should I replace both left and right rear calipers at the same time for performance/safety concern? Or doesn't matter?
5. Or could I lubricate the caliper to fix the issue of binding without getting a new caliper?

I would appreciate your feedback!!!

Last edited by seanariel; 12-13-2011 at 12:00 PM.
Old 12-13-2011, 01:16 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

sean, easy way to check is to jack up one side of the car so you can see the e-brake cables in the center of the car. Now, engage the e-brake. If both are working properly, the splitting bar will remain parallel to the rear bumper. If you see the splitting bar pointing towards a wheel, then the wheel it is pointing to is the one that has the bad caliper.

As for the pad setup, the normal foot pedal pad is the same pad as the e-brake pad. The e-brake cable manually engages the hydraulic (foot pedal) piston (which pushes on the braking pad).

As for replacing pads when you change the caliper, you don't have to, but I would say if you are that far into it, might as well spend the few extra bucks and do the complete job so you are not going in a short time later.