X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New owner question

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2011, 10:54 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New owner question

I just bought a 2002 x-type, 2.5, 5spd. Actually, wife bought it, but I get it since it's a stick .

A couple questions. First, what should I be looking for as far as problem areas? I've heard that Jags do a lot of shop time, and would like to spot problems before they get really expensive. I'm a pretty good amature mechanic and am used to repairing/solving problems myself.

Second, I want to change oil immediately. Is it really neccessary to replace the oil plug at each change??? Also, what's a good oil for thisw beast?

Thanks,
Bill

Old 08-03-2011, 11:55 AM
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by billrata
I just bought a 2002 x-type, 2.5, 5spd. Actually, wife bought it, but I get it since it's a stick .

A couple questions. First, what should I be looking for as far as problem areas? I've heard that Jags do a lot of shop time, and would like to spot problems before they get really expensive. I'm a pretty good amature mechanic and am used to repairing/solving problems myself.

Second, I want to change oil immediately. Is it really neccessary to replace the oil plug at each change??? Also, what's a good oil for thisw beast?

Thanks,
Bill
Start by replacing all the major fluids - engine oil, transmission, transfer case, power steering, brake. Then clean the AC and fuel line (my jag dealer offers those).

I bought my x type new in Aug 2006. I do the regular maintenance stuff and touch wood I've had no major problems of any kind.

Old 08-03-2011, 03:31 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,824 Likes on 3,143 Posts