X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie to forum- but not to my x-type... HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2011, 02:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie to forum- but not to my x-type... HELP!

Alright guys- quick background on me. I have 2 X-Types (02 & 04 1/2) and a 09 XF. I worked @ jaguar dealer here for 3 years but quit before I became a life-er. Im not a mechanic nor mechanically inclined but am very familiar with X's (having 2 personally and seeing whats in the shop and for what).

Im havin a problem that might be easy for somone else to diagnose, but not me. My 04 starts and runs great but here are my symptoms: If you push really hard on the gas it starts going, but accelleration is slow. The RPM's in forward gears are pretty low. But, in rear it drives fine. Something clogged? Maybe an easy fix? It was a CPO but warranty ran out of time- I only have 53,000 miles... Ironically enough, my 02 tranny went out @ 55K... I should have known but quality was vast improved in the later years so I shouldn't have let down my guard... NO check engine lights. At all. Maybe a cat converter? My other x just would stroll into neutral after downshift of 2nd gear... Not the same here at all..

Old 03-14-2011, 03:03 PM
Veteran Member
Received 55 Likes on 50 Posts

Check for vacuum leaks would be my first thing, second have you run some injector cleaner through the system? That would be what I try first in any case.

Old 03-14-2011, 06:08 PM
Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts

Are you saying that it's only a problem if you floor it, but runs normally if you only use part throttle? Is the engine racing but car not moving, or engine is sluggish? Please explain exactly how you can make it happen. Try to tell us what the RPM, MPH, and throttle position is for each step and how the car responds to different types of driving.

Old 03-14-2011, 08:16 PM
Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts