X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie Questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2011, 08:36 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Newbie Questions

Hello all, I am new to the jaguar and have a few questions.

Well, I bought an 03 x-type 2.5 119k miles with a busted oil pan because I have mechanical experience and figured why not. So after dropping the pan and replacing it the car started up. The problem is that now I her a sound from the block that sounds like a spun bearing at startup and at low speeds along with a flickering oil light but other than that the car drives great.
So I am trying to decide whether to rebuild the block or just get a motor from the salvage/junk yard and drop in, but I'm looking for the most cost effective way. I have been searching the forum and I have a few questions regarding this project.

1st- Is it possible to replace the bearings from the oil pan without taking out the engine on this 2.5 motor?

2nd- If I do have to remove the engine can it be done from the top or is it true that it can only be removed from the bottom? Because it would make the job so much harder for me.

3rd- I have one key. The key that flips out from the alarm and the buttons aren't working so I replaced the battery and tried the programming instructions but nothing. After the on/off 4 times I do get the chime but when I take out the key and press the button I get nothing. I also sprayed some WD40 in the ignition because it doesn't look like the flap totally closes. It looks like its still about 1/3 open but I can't get it to close anymore. How do I know if the car thinks the key is still in? Do these go bad or am I doing something wrong?
Thanks in advance to any help I can get.

Old 06-30-2011, 11:15 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,823 Likes on 3,142 Posts