X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

P1646 Code

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2015, 02:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy P1646 Code

Hi Guys .Im a newby here .Hopefully you can help me.I have just acquired a 2002 X-Type Jag Its a lovely car and has only done 50.000 miles.It has been laid up for 6 months .I am getting a code P1646 on my friends diagnosis computer .Its telling me its a heated oxygen sensor control module Bank 1 open or shorted.It drives well but this code thing is worrying and I am not good with car mechanics.Any Ideas .How much is a replacement .Im in the UK.Thanks in advance Steve

Old 09-08-2015, 04:37 PM
Received 71 Likes on 64 Posts

Fill in the exact details here for your car or ring them, you need the upstream sensor, which is usually more than the downstream ones

Lambda Sensor | Quality Lambda Sensors For Cars Of All Makes & Models

Denso or Bosch, though not the Bosch one listed here

Avoid universal ones, it is a part which goes rarely so fit the best possible

You could also ask here if someone can recommend a fitter in your location

X-Type

Old 09-08-2015, 07:18 PM
Received 286 Likes on 234 Posts

stevie: Pictures with locations of all 4 oxygen sensors are in this thread: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...-where-129374/

The error code P1646 is telling you to replace the upstream oxygen sensor on Bank 1, the firewall side. It's easy to see, but not so easy to reach with a socket and breaker bar.