X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

newby to jags

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2009, 05:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool newby to jags

alright, I'm new to jags.. bought an 02 x-type 2.5 5spd about a year ago, and have had many issues... mostly just small things. first i had to drill off almost all the lug nuts on all four wheels, they were all siezed up and nothing was touching them (only managed to foul up one lug!). i have been tracing numerous vacume leaks, the most recent was fixed a few days ago. replaced the a/c compressor clutch bearing, and from the looks of the silinoid, will be replacing that soon as well! the battery was bad... replaced that... and then ended up replacing the alternator soon thereafter. just this morning i tried to open the hood, and found the driver's side latch isnt releasing, and that how i managed to find this site, doing a search to see what was on the net for that issue!now to get down to it... been reading through the posts all day, and just wondering what other common issues i have yet to encounter! lol i'm not afraid of working on it myself, everything mentioned earlier was fixed on my own... and the one thread about the changing spark plugs was very insightful and had been wondering if i was going to have to take off the manifold to get to them! so here i am people... break me in, what do i have yet to look forward to? lol

Old 10-25-2009, 02:50 AM
Veteran Member
Received 63 Likes on 39 Posts

Hi chilltj and welcome to the forum
Another common item to fail is the rear wheel speed sensor rings on the outer CV joint.They tend to corrode and fall off especially in colder climates where salt is used on the roads.Jaguar were first alerted to this in the UK in Scotland and then this spread gradually southwards so it may well depend on your location.