X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

P0171 and P0174 loud noise from front X type.

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2012, 07:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P0171 and P0174 loud noise from front X type.

Hello, I had check engine light come on and had it scan P0171 and P0174. I'm also hearing a loud noise coming from the front of the car when it runs. I'm a newbie and would like to work on the problem first before I take to mechanic. I tried to search the forums but could not find a direct answer. Can anyone help with the first things I need to check. I have a 2004 X-type

Last edited by Raffy13; 11-08-2012 at 07:31 AM. Reason: Need to add year and model of car.
Old 11-08-2012, 07:56 AM
Veteran Member
Received 126 Likes on 114 Posts

if memory is correct that is a vacuum leak, check the various vacuum lines for leaks or loose connections. If nothing is visually bad then it may be the IMT gaskets or the upper or lower intake manifold gaskets

Old 11-08-2012, 09:39 AM
Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts

Originally Posted by iownme
if memory is correct that is a vacuum leak, check the various vacuum lines for leaks or loose connections. If nothing is visually bad then it may be the IMT gaskets or the upper or lower intake manifold gaskets

I agree about the possible vacuum leak. If the noise is a hissing type sound then that would make sense. Can you desrcibe it? It would make sense to get the codes you mentioned if you have a significant vacuum leak.

If you're having trouble tracing the leak or sound, an old mechanic's trick works very well. Get a 4 foot section of 1/4 inch or so vacuum hose. Hold one end in your ear and the other end in the general area of the sound. The louder it is, the closer you are.

If the area is hard to reach. tape one end of the hose to a wire coat hanger or stiff, bendable rod. This will allow you to probe the areas with more accuracy.