X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thinking about 2005 sport wagon

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2016, 12:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking about 2005 sport wagon

There is a 2005 sport wagon local for sale with 154K on it. Engine/trans got replaced at 140K due to failed timing chain with one from donor car that had 75K.

Car looks to be well taken car of, very clean with no obvious issues. The timing chain issue worries me. Any specific thing I should be on the lookout for when I got test drive it etc?

How dependable is the engine/trans in these? I have no experience with the platform and have to go buy what I'm reading in the forums/reviews of the car.

Have 3 young kids and this would be wife daily driver, just don't want to put her into a dud...

I have spoken with seller via email over last few days, He says car has DSC, has been serviced using all synthetic etc... have to take word for it till I see the receipts, maintenance records.

Old 02-21-2016, 12:25 PM
Veteran Member
Received 301 Likes on 279 Posts

Failed timing chain? That is very rare in these engines. I can't say that I have ever seen a post on here since I have been a member where an engine failure has been traced to that. If you change the fluids regularly and drive like an adult chances are you should be good.

Old 02-21-2016, 12:33 PM

Originally Posted by Alfadude
Failed timing chain? That is very rare in these engines. I can't say that I have ever seen a post on here since I have been a member where an engine failure has been traced to that. If you change the fluids regularly and drive like an adult chances are you should be good.
To be specific he says it was the timing chain guides that failed. Had a friends 2000 something XJS fail on him literally while sitting at a parked talking to me on the phone. But Since this is a totally different engine etc I was not sure if thats a continuing issue... sound like it's not from what your saying.