X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Transfer Case Fluid Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2012, 11:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transfer Case Fluid Question

So since I just go my jag a couple of months ago I would like to do some preventative maintenance and I have heard the transfer case fluid mentioned on here a few times so it concerns me. My X-Type just turned over 115k. I want to change the transfer case fluid but it is something I have never done before. How do you do it and should I get the fluid from the dealer? Also what else should I change or check at this mileage?
Thanks,
Tony

Old 05-10-2012, 12:10 AM
Veteran Member
Received 172 Likes on 147 Posts

so first lets tackle the tcase fluid question:
Go here: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...w-hosted-3717/
and follow the steps! I have done this about 3 times so that I don't have to take out my tcase as you will have to fill it from the drain valve. I filled it with royal purple fully synthetic and I am very glad I performed this. Don't ask the dealer about this. They will not do this because they see you as $$$ and say the case is "sealed for life"

As for the 115k, you have the same mileage as me. You will have to do spark plugs (MAJOR PITA and costs about $600 if you can't do it yourself) which requires removing the intake manifold. You should also swap out fuel filter and air filter. And you should probably do the rear diff fluid. Also, because you have an 02 you should swap out your pcv valve and pcv hose during the plug swap. If you feel like it, you should also do your o2 sensors for better mileage and clean your MAF sensor. Kinda a long laundry list, but Right now all I have left is the plugs and rear diff!

The following 2 users liked this post by disguay:
Bill400 (07-21-2013), Rigsby94 (05-10-2012)
Old 05-10-2012, 12:10 AM
Veteran Member
Old 05-10-2012, 09:16 AM