X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

X Type Help (Springs/Coilovers/Airbags)

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2015, 02:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default X Type Help (Springs/Coilovers/Airbags)

Before I explain my situation just want to be clear that I am a complete novice at this and this is only my second car, I also reside in U.K.

I am in the process of purchasing a Jaguar x type, reason ala exepat love his car.

I want to make some modifications but due to my limited budget I need some advice.

I want to lower the car as much as possible but cannot afford air bag suspension. I need to be able to clear speed bumps as this would be my everyday car. The coilovers and springs I have seen do not give enough drop to the car I am looking for something that would hopefully give about 3-4 inches drop.

Any advice and suggestions on springs or coilovers that can do this would be greatly appreciated as I have no idea where to look.

Also if I use 18-19 inch tires combined with lowering the car will that give it a better lowered and even look? I assume bigger tires will give it a little lift.

I personally would love to imitate exepats x type (exterior wise) but have a big lack of knowledge and finance, therefore would love to get as close to it as possible in terms of lowering.

Any advice and suggestions greatly appreciated, my sincere apologies if I done or said anything inappropriate.

Old 01-18-2015, 06:39 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,823 Likes on 3,142 Posts

Navi, see my post in the UK section. In short, the springs you will find are almost all limited to 1.4" in drop. To go beyond that, you are looking at something custom, aka, lots of money or lots and lots of your time.

Old 01-19-2015, 09:05 AM

Thanks for your reply, its been a big help.

The only option would be air bag kit which I know nothing about.