X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

X Type Modifications

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2015, 02:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default X Type Modifications

Before I explain my situation just want to be clear that I am a complete novice at this and this is only my second car, I also reside in U.K.

I am in the process of purchasing a Jaguar x type, reason ala exepat love his car.

I want to make some modifications but due to my limited budget I need some advice.

I want to lower the car as much as possible but cannot afford air bag suspension. I need to be able to clear speed bumps as this would be my everyday car. The coilovers and springs I have seen do not give enough drop to the car I am looking for something that would hopefully give about 3-4 inches drop.

Any advice and suggestions on springs or coilovers that can do this would be greatly appreciated as I have no idea where to look.

Also if I use 17-18 inch tyres combined with lowering the car will that give it a better lowered and even look? I assume bigger tyres will give it a little lift.

I personally would love to imitate exepats x type (exterior wise) but have a big lack of knowledge and finance, therefore would love to get as close to it as possible in terms of lowering.

Any advice and suggestions greatly appreciated, my sincere apologies if I done or said anything inappropriate.

Old 01-18-2015, 06:37 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

Navi1985, Welcome to the Forums and you will probably find that what I tell you is not going to be to your liking. But, it is what it is.