Sponsored by:

X-Type Sluggish Throttle Response when Hot Outside

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2012, 07:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default X-Type Sluggish Throttle Response when Hot Outside

Hey All,

My first post here...

2002 X-Type Sport 3.0 Manual. I have owned the car since new and it's still going strong with over 219K miles. I am a spirited driver and I have never babied my X-Type. I frequently accelerate hard off the line and every summer I am disappointed with the lack of response of the throttle.

Over all of these years, I have noticed that when the outside air temperature is hot, 90F+, the throttle response is rather sluggish. With the X-Type, I have always noticed a slight delay all year long with throttle response, but during the summer it's extremely annoying.

I know everything is computer controlled and throttle by wire with multiple sensors. I have noticed this sluggish throttle at all stages of the vehicles life, new, old spark plugs, after complete servicing....etc. I know there are aftermarket companies with add-on modules to increase throttle response, but I have never tried them and I doubt I will. Is this something that can be programmed out of the PCM?

Has anyone else experienced this sluggish throttle when hot outside temperatures? What have you done to compensate/fix?

Thanks,

Henri

Old 07-07-2012, 11:27 AM
Received 2,255 Likes on 1,840 Posts

Welcome to the site!

I'm surprised to hear that there's such a marked difference in warmer conditions but a 'chip' or add-on widget won't do anything for you. They're the modern day electronic equivalent of snake oil.

If what you're saying is that car feels low on power- that's normal. Hot air is 'thinner' than cold air with less oxygen molecules per cubic measure to burn with the fuel. There's no way around that, unless you want to get into supercharging or turbos.

Maybe I've misunderstood?

Old 07-07-2012, 03:04 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts