X-Type ( X400 ) 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Xtype questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2011, 07:42 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Xtype questions

My girlfriends car is a 2002 xtype with the 2.5 and auto trans. This car has 83,000 miles and needs a water pump, intake gaskets and oil pan gaskets, which we have bought. However due to some of the leaks mentioned it needs both cats replaced. My questions: Can she replace the cats with aftermarket?
If so what converters do you recommend? Also where can I buy a repair manual for this car? I am a mechanic (I build hot rods) yet I have never worked on non American cars. Is this something a basic back yard mechanic can do? Thank you all for any help you can provide, Mark

Old 06-14-2011, 04:59 AM
Veteran Member
Received 637 Likes on 439 Posts

Hello,
I have just moved your thread off to the proer area , proper I mean lol

Well, you can read FAQs and stick to Thermo's advice

Old 06-14-2011, 06:00 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,825 Likes on 3,144 Posts

Mark, welcome to the forums. You will find lots of information around here and lots of people to help you out with your issues and in general, talk cars. So, ask away and don't be afraid to pass on what you figure out.

Now, on to your questions.

As for the cats, how much modification are you willing to do? Unfortunately, Jag incorporated the cats into the exhaust manifold and the only way to get new cats is to get the factory stuff. As I am sure you have found out, these are not cheap. Granted, I have to ask what makes you think that the cats are bad? The cats should be good for a long, long time and having them go out at 83K miles is a little unusual. You may find that replacing the intake manifold gaskets or fixing some other issues will clear your problem. Some may even recommend a can of Seafoam to see if you can clean out some of the carbon.