XF and XFR ( X250 ) 2007 - 2015

Bad Timing Chain, SC Snout, etc.

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2017, 10:13 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Unhappy Bad Timing Chain, SC Snout, etc.

Hi All,

Been some time since I posted here, but wanted to get your advice on this. I recently took my 2010 XF Supercharged with 93k miles to the dealer for an oil change, and they notified me that I will need to:

1). REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN COMPONENTS AND THE SUPER CHARGER SNOUT - $10,874.22
2). Replace water pump - $943.87
3). Replace both lower control arms - $1,927.08

Now, I'm no expert, but I know this is a ridiculous amount of money. Having said that, I also know I shouldn't be dumping money into a car with high mileage, even if its significantly less than the quote they gave me.

I still owe 12.5k on the car. Is it time to start looking for a new car before something else goes wrong?

Old 04-20-2017, 01:02 PM
Veteran Member
Received 280 Likes on 214 Posts

If you're out of warranty anyway you should probably find a Jaguar independent shop for a second opinion. If you didn't buy it new, you may not know the full history and bear in mind these were $70K cars when they rolled off the lot with the maintenance habits to match, even if you paid half that, the costs don't drop to that of a Honda. Which is why some folks believe a few thousand for an aftermarket warranty is good insurance.

The early model years did have some water pump issues (mine had been replaced at 24K by the previous owner) and given your mileage, I suspect the lower control arms are due to the bushes being worn (hear clunks when going over rough ground ?) - for the Land Rover it's more expensive in parts but cheaper in labour to replace the whole control arm than replace the bushings and you get other things like ball joints "free" when that happens. I'm sure the same is true for the Jaguar cousin.