XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

bowers and wilkins vs standard, SC vs nonSC

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2011, 08:02 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bowers and wilkins vs standard, SC vs nonSC

I'm looking to trade in my XF (which has BW audio) for a new XJ or XJL (now that roof popping has been put to rest,it seems). The BW is not very common on the non-supercharged models as an option ordered by the dealers. I'm a musician, so I thought it was best to have the BW but the dealer insists that the standard audio system is also BW though with less wattage and fewer speakers. Can anyone corroborate this?
While both sound 'good', I've not had an ideal comparative listening test. Wasn't sure if the standard audio has the Prologic IIx surround and Audyssey EQ etc.
Going without the upgraded audio would give me more color options so would like to hear input from others.

My dealer is trying to get me to go supercharged so it isn't an issue but I can't imaging needing 470 hp vs 385 and really like the gas mileage in the base engine. Plus the 20" wheels, while very nice looking probably ride harsher and do seem more prone to pothole damage.
My understanding is that there is little or no acceleration time difference from 0-60 as even the 385hp can do it in 4.5sec with right settings.
Thoughts?

thanks, a great forum here!
AJ

Old 10-23-2011, 01:42 PM
Received 49 Likes on 35 Posts

The Jaguar 400W sound system features 12 high-efficiency speakers and Dynamic Volume Control, which actively compensates for noise in the cabin.
- The Jaguar 600W premium sound system has a powerful DSP amplifier, 14 speakers and three extra audio channels, available through WhiteFire™ wireless digital headphones, when selected with Dual View or Rear Seat Entertainment.