XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

OEM brakes durability, should I just upgrade to something else?

Old 05-21-2016, 10:15 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default OEM brakes durability, should I just upgrade to something else?

I bought my 2012 XJ supercharged a little over a year ago CPO, supposedly had new brakes at the time.

I have put 15,000 highway miles on it and just found out I need new front pads and rotors, cost of $1000 installed at dealer.

What is the general experience for how long brakes are supposed to last? For $1000 possibly I could get some after market pads and rotors that would last longer or the same and be of higher performance or spend some more money on a better option?

I'm new to jag and to this forum so thanks in advance. I didn't find this topic when I searched so sorry in advance if this has been asked and answered.

Old 05-21-2016, 03:14 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

1000$ for front brakes is a rip off. OEM brake pads cost 40$, rotors max 150$. You can replace yourself easily or get it done in the garage for another 50$. Or you can get drilled/slotted performance rotors for 400-500$. 1k is just unbelievably pricy for some crappy oem stuff.

Old 05-21-2016, 04:39 PM
Veteran Member
Received 512 Likes on 413 Posts

At 15k I seriously doubt that you need new rotors, unless they are warped. I have 59k on my 2013 SuperSport and get @18k out of the front pads and can replace the pads twice before the rotor is below the minimum thickness that is stamped in the rim of the rotor. I have stuck with OEM as the matchup of the components has given me super braking. A front pad replacement runs @ $380 at my dealer. Last time I did front brakes and rotors it cost $866.85 add $100 (parts and labor) for sensor and replacement if needed. Hope this helps. Remember that the supercharged XJs have bigger brakes than the V6s and Diesels.

Old 05-22-2016, 12:15 AM
Veteran Member
Received 6,132 Likes on 3,379 Posts

Robert,