Harman Kardon system - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum

Notices
XJ XJ12 ( X305 ) 1995 - 1997

Harman Kardon system

 
  #1  
Old 11-20-2018, 08:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cinti.Oh
Posts: 60
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Question Harman Kardon system

Hello again,I am trying to understand the premium stereo system. I recently had the radio cassette 9500 series rebuilt. The system on my 1996 X-305 lists in the relay/fuse section in its' boot quite a few fuses and relays.I am looking for some clarity.I have the factory shop manuals but they do little to clarify how the system works.#1 fuse 25 amp lists [power amplifier/radio cassette and compact disc player. #8 fuse 15 amp [trunk remote release/antenna/radio cassette and compact disc player memory supply. #10 fuse 5 amp radio cassette and compact disc player control relay. #12 fuse 5 amp. accessories and telephone relay. Anyway the rebuilt unit worked perfectly until I pushed the cd button and it noted "not connected". Once or twice the display noted " the cds and shuffled through without selecting any cd??? Well after some research I pulled all fuses related thinking maybe the system needed a reboot? After I did this the system worked as it should and the sound was just like new....I did archive research but still can't my mind around how the various fuses and relays play their part??? Can someone help simplify the system? Best Regards
 

Last edited by GGG; 12-06-2018 at 02:38 PM. Reason: Edit typo in thread title
  #2  
Old 11-20-2018, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 437
Thanked 195 Times in 118 Posts
Default

I believe itís normal behavior for the changer to shuffle through the discs to find which slots are filled, but IIRC it does that the first time CD-C is selected from the radio after a power cycle.

My 1996 XJ12 has this system and I found the factory Alpine head unit to be VERY unreliable. The buttons didnít work right, the backlighting failed, the volume knob would be unresponsive...

I removed it and installed a JVC Arsenal unit with USB/Bluetooth/MP3 capability and havenít looked back. With a Volvo amplifier adapter, I was able to feed the existing H/K amplifier in the trunk with the RCA Pre-Amp outputs on the JVC, leaving it functioning exactly as designed, with the original speakers. I used a standard XJ6 (non-premium) harness adapter for the JVC so I wouldnít have to cut any factory wires. Itís Plug and Play.

Nick
 

Last edited by NTL1991; 11-20-2018 at 04:04 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to NTL1991 For This Useful Post:
Scotlad (01-06-2019)
  #3  
Old 11-20-2018, 08:04 PM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 19,706
Thanked 6,267 Times in 4,693 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jagnut View Post
Well after some research I pulled all fuses related thinking maybe the system needed a reboot? After I did this the system worked as it should and the sound was just like new...
To be quite honest I think it was a fluke; I truly hope I'm wrong.

I went thru at least a half dozen radios in as many years of X300 ownership. A couple of them 'rebuilt,' and a couple sent out for professional repair, a couple more purchased as-is off Ebay. Problems operating/communicating with the CD were the most common.

If I can find my old X300 schematics I'll try to answer your question later

Cheers
DD
 
  #4  
Old 11-21-2018, 08:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cinti.Oh
Posts: 60
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Can you tell me if there is some kind of coding in the radio that tells the head to recognize the cd unit. The head unit has been just rebuilt and everything works as it should save the cd changer recognition.I still get "NOT CONT" This is on my 1996 xj-12 with premium HK sound system.
 
  #5  
Old 11-22-2018, 02:14 AM
SleekJag12's Avatar
Veteran Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Posts: 1,071
Thanked 309 Times in 242 Posts
Default

The rebuilder should have rebuilt the trouble spot that causes the "NOT CONT" error message. It is the most common failure point inside the unit. Who knows why they ignored it! The error message is well documented (in the X300 section) and it requires re-soldering a particular component inside the unit. You might have to send it back to the rebuilder so they can finish the job. There is really no other way the CD changer will work without this repair. Lots of owners have repaired the connection themselves with success, but it takes a delicate touch with a soldering iron.
 

Last edited by SleekJag12; 11-22-2018 at 02:18 AM. Reason: Added info
  #6  
Old 11-22-2018, 07:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cinti.Oh
Posts: 60
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Thanks for the information and I knew about this.I spoke with the audio specialist and he tells me he is looking into some type of coding. He told me he has dealt with this before.He has my OEM unit and is going to compare the rebuilt unit with my old OEM unit. I just sent the unit out to him but he won't receive it until nov 28. I will post results when I receive it back. Thanks for your help. Would love to know about the fuse that controls the cd changers memory radio cassette and antenna trunk release?
 
  #7  
Old 11-22-2018, 10:09 AM
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest USA
Posts: 19,706
Thanked 6,267 Times in 4,693 Posts
Default

Here's some info for anyone who hasn't heard of the issue before

Jos Raven PA0AMX


Cheers
DD
 
The Following User Says Thank You to Doug For This Useful Post:
Lady Penelope (11-23-2018)
  #8  
Old 12-16-2018, 03:42 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oregon City OR
Posts: 91
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jagnut View Post
Thanks for the information and I knew about this.I spoke with the audio specialist and he tells me he is looking into some type of coding. He told me he has dealt with this before.He has my OEM unit and is going to compare the rebuilt unit with my old OEM unit. I just sent the unit out to him but he won't receive it until nov 28. I will post results when I receive it back. Thanks for your help. Would love to know about the fuse that controls the cd changers memory radio cassette and antenna trunk release?
I am suspicious of the "audio specialist" knowledge This problem is ALWAYS the missing solder joint
 
Attached Files
File Type: html
Jos Raven PA0AMX.html (12.0 KB, 6 views)
  #9  
Old 01-04-2019, 08:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cinti.Oh
Posts: 60
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Smile Harmon Kardon system

Hello,just wanted to wrap this up. I received my OEM radio cassette back from Creative Car Audio Shop and it is better than new. Massoud did a great job. The window is bright and all functions work better than new. I then turned my attention to the cd changer.I disassembled and cleaned the laser and lubed the unit along with tightening up the white plastic drive gear. I am thrilled to say the music is back. I much appreciated the tips and the links. I highly recommend Massoud Majidimehr and his craft. Best Regards to all..
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
al_roethlisberger
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
5
04-09-2014 08:53 PM
Fenja
PRIVATE For Sale / Trade or Buy Classifieds
7
07-27-2010 11:24 AM
Mekenik
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
6
06-23-2010 02:38 PM
rparshall
XK8 / XKR ( X100 )
18
05-04-2008 10:10 PM
brianvabeach
XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 )
2
08-15-2007 09:47 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Harman Kardon system


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: