XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Sunroof repair link threads?

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2014, 02:56 PM
Received 132 Likes on 67 Posts
Default Sunroof repair link threads?

Hidy folks,
I've been searching for a How To regarding my particular sunroof issue. I got this cat on Monday, the 6th, and knew that the sunroof didn't open, but that was all I knew. I have concluded that it's one, or more, of a few things.

Here's what I hear; when I press the button rearward to open it fully, I hear and AWFUL grinding noise and the motor running. Nothing moves tho. So, I know the button and the motor both work. I don't know if it's the gear on the motor itself or if it's the part the gear engages on the sunroof assy to open/close it. I'm guessing the latter of the two, but I'm no expert.

With all that being said, can anyone point me in the right direction to the removal, fully or just dropping, the headliner and then ordering the right parts? Also, is this something I want to tackle on my own or farm out to the pros? For those who don't know, I'm pretty mechanical and have a very nice set of tools in my arsenal (lol).

I can take a video and upload it of the pressing of the butting and subsequent grinding if that will help, but it'll be a large file and I'd rather keep that space open for others if they need it. I will if anyone thinks it'll help tho.

I thank you for the guidance and assistance that I've come to appreciate fully from the great minds here!

Rags

Old 10-08-2014, 09:10 PM
Received 164 Likes on 104 Posts

You can remove the glass by itself with Allen keys, if I remember correctly. This way you can look at the condition of the slides when you press the open or close button. This would be a good starting point to see what's going on without removing too much.

The following users liked this post:
ragman1171 (10-08-2014)
Old 10-08-2014, 09:15 PM

Originally Posted by BlackKat