XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

'95 XJ6 - need desperate help with rear wheel bearings

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2009, 04:44 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default '95 XJ6 - need desperate help with rear wheel bearings

Hey everybody...first and foremost I'm a certified auto tech but don't specialize in Jaguars. I own a '95 XJ6 and attempted to do the rear wheel bearings on it today using the kit from motorcars ltd. It seemed pretty cut and dry...popped out hub, removed seals, bearings, races, abs ring, and spacers/shims...greased everything up real good, and put back together. However, the play in the hubs actually seems even worse than it was with the old bearings in it. When I wiggle the rear wheel back and forward I'm getting a good 1/2 inch of movement side to side and up and down. I can't figure out why I can't get this play out of the bearings as I used a bearing packer and packed them FULL of grease. Could it possibly be due to me using the old shims/spacers? I installed the shim on the tapered end of the spacer which is facing towards the outer bearing (this appeared to be the way it came out and looks to be right from my diagram but please correct me if I'm wrong) They looked to be in great shape so I didn't see the need to replace them and thought they had more to do with bearing preload than actual side to side play. Please if you can advise me on anything to look out for I would be more than greatful. The car is stuck on the lift at my garage right now and I only have a loaner car for a couple days and need to order additional parts if need-be. Thanks a lot

My best
Bill

Old 03-11-2009, 06:19 PM
Received 70 Likes on 56 Posts

Were the outer bearing races a tight fit into their recesses in the hub carrier? I have seen a case where the outer race had spun, and "lathed" the recess for the outer race deeper than designed.

Are you sure the play is at the hub bearings, and not the lower fulcrum bearings at the lower pivot of the hub carrier?